This is a read only copy without any forum functionality of the old Modcraft forum.
If there is anything that you would like to have removed, message me on Discord via Kaev#5208.
Big thanks to Alastor for making this copy!

Menu

Author Topic: 10 - Add a Full New Map from Scratch  (Read 27129 times)

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
10 - Add a Full New Map from Scratch
« on: December 08, 2012, 01:04:34 am »

Introducing



Now we want to create a new map with the size of 5 x 5 adts located at it's center..

Quote
The map is defined by adt files, a wdt and a wdl file. They are located in

MPQsworldmapsmapname

You also need some entries in the DBC's and you have to copy them to your server.

The adt files contain the map data like height information, texturing or models.
Every map can have a maximum of 64 x 64 adts. The numbers in the adt name define the position of the adt on the map. It starts with mapname_0_0.adt in the left top corner and goes to mapname_63_63.adt for the right bottom corner. The first number defines the horizontal direction and the second the vertical direction.

The wdt file stores 'if and where' adt's exist on the map. It can also contain only a link to a WMO model. Then this map has no ADTs like many instances.

The wdl contains low resolution heigh information used to render mountains in the distance. Also these info are used to draw the 2d view of your map inside the map selection window of noggit. So it's good to create the WDL from time to time to navigate much easier inside of noggit.

>> We will create the map with the name test03. There is already an empty folder in the following path.

F:WoWModdingProjectsTutorialProjectpatchworldmapstest03

You can also use an own name. For this just always replace the name test03 with your name. Best use only lower case names without any special characters and/or spaces in it.


The ADT Files



>> Open the following folder

F:WoWModdingToolsADTAdder

>> Open the ADTAdder.exe
>> Press the Browse button and select the file template_0_0.adt from the same directory.
>> Enter the name test03 for map name
>> Enter the cords 29 and 29 in the filds from ADT
>> Enter the cords 33 and 33 in the filds to ADT
>> Press Start creation
>> Now wait till the adder has created all the files. Just have a look in the application folder if test03_33_33.adt is there.
>> Run the fix.bat script with double click to fix cords of all ADTs.
>> Copy the new created ADT files to your map folder.

F:WoWModdingProjectsTutorialProjectpatchworldmapstest03

Quote
If you move or copy an ADT to a new name, you need to fix the internal coordinates. This is what OffsetFix.exe does. It takes the name, extracts the XX and YY cords of the adt and rewrites the internal position data based on this information. The fix.bat script just uses the OffsetFix.exe on every adt file inside the current directory.

The WDT File



>> Open Taliis from

F:WoWModdingToolsTaliisTaliis.jar

>> MENU > File > New
>> Select WDT
>> Enter test03 for filename and press OK
>> Select the new WDT in the sidebar and do MENU >> File >> Save as..
>> Save the file in your map folder with the name test03.wdt

F:WoWModdingProjectsTutorialProjectpatchworldmapstest03 test03.wdt

>> MENU > Edit > Scan folder
>> Select once another node in the WDL tree and reselect again main node. Now you should see 5 x 5 ADTs marked on the map.
>> MENU > Edit > Save file again with same path. Take care not to forget the .wdt at the end!

F:WoWModdingProjectsTutorialProjectpatchworldmapstest03 test03.wdt





Quote
The function scan folder just looks at the folder the WDT is located in and searches fitting adts there. If it finds some it marks them all automatically on the WDT table. This marks the right ADT's and prevents mistakes.

The WDL File



>> Open the FuTa folder

F:WoWModdingToolsFuTa

>> Copy the file template.wdl to your test03 folder
>> Rename the WDL to test03.wdl
>> Start FuTa application
>> Load the just created WDL file
>> Open the tree on the left side and select Low Res Height
>> Press the Select adt files button on the right side
>> Select all ADTs inside of the following folder and press Open

F:WoWModdingTestProjectsTutorialProjectpatchworldmapstest03

>> Press the button Generate data on the bottom
>> Save the WDL file

As long as you have not done any modeling the WDL file will not change anything. But if you re-run the data generation after some modeling you see this as a result inside the noggit minimap window.





DBC Work



To get your map into noggit and ingame you also need entries in the Map.dbc and AreaTable.dbc

In the tutorial pack there are german DBC's included. This way you were able to just load the testmaps fast. We will now create these files also new from your client files. Then they fit your local and you know how it works.


>> Copy the files Map.dbc and the AreaTable.dbc from the top path to the bottom folder and replace the existing files.

E:WoWModdingClientFilesDBFilesClient
E:WoWModdingProjectsTutorialProjectpatchDBFilesClient

Map.dbc



In the Map.dbc every map that exists in the world is listed. It defines the real name of the map and defines some stuff like loading screens.
For more info about the fields have a look at the wow dev wiki.

http://www.wowdev.wiki/index.php?title=Map.dbc

>> Open MyDbcEditor

F:WoWModdingToolsMyDbcEditor

>> Select MENU > File > Open...
>> Select the map.dbc file from

F:WoWModdingProjectsTutorialProjectpatchDBFilesClientMap.dbc

>> Select the line of Azeroth by clicking on it.
>> Right click on the selected line and select copy line to from context menu
>> Enter 803 as target id.
>> Rename cell 2 from Azeroth to test03
>> Rename the next cell from the name Eastern Kingdoms in your langauge to any name you like. This cell varies depending on your client language. You can also just use test03 here.

Now redo the same taks for test01 (ID 801) and test02 (ID 802)

AreaTable.dbc



Quote
To get ingame you need minimum one entry in this table for every map.
This table defines the regions that exist on your map. Like Elwynn Forest or Goldshire.
They are nested so Goldshire is a subarea of Elwynn. But we only have to create one top area on this map so that the client doesn't crash.

>> Open MyDbcEditor

F:WoWModdingToolsMyDbcEditor

>> Select MENU > File > Open...
>> Select the AreaTable.dbc file from

F:WoWModdingProjectsTutorialProjectpatchDBFilesClientAreaTable.dbc

>> Righclick on the list > Insert Line
>> All not noted cells will stay on default
>> Give ID 5100
>> Enter mapID of 803. Its the link to Map.dbc
>> Enter ExploreFlag to next heiger ID 3500 for example.
>> Enter first SRefName an English name of the region.
>> Enter second SRefName a localized name in your language.
>> Enter minElevation -500. Seems to be standard :)

Repeat this task for map ID 801 and 802 and save the table.

Now your new map is ready to get formed.




This guide has been completely proof-read and corrected in grammar by Mountainlion. Feel free to message him.



11 - Add new maptiles to an existing map
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

Jermanfu

  • Registred Member
  • BLP Convertor
  • *****
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: 10 - Add a full new map from scratch
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2014, 12:17:46 am »
Hey Seff!  Got another question for you.

When I get to this part about editing the areatable.dbc:
Quote
>> Righclick on the list > Insert Line
>> All not noted cells will stay on default
>> Give ID 5100
>> Enter mapID of 803. Its the link to Map.dbc
>> Enter ExploreFlag to next heiger ID 3500 for example.
>> Enter first SRefName an englisch name of the reagion.
>> Enter second SRefName a localiced name in your language.
>> Enter minElevation -500. Seams to be standart :)

Repeat this task for map ID 801 and 802 and save the table.

Not your new map is ready to get formed.

my dbceditor doesn't quite look like the steps that you are talking about.  Below is an image of what I'm seeing.  My added area entry is line 5100 (Jer Region).
First of all, what is ExploreFlag and heiger ID?  ALso I don't see SrefName.  I'm assuming the last column is the minElevation height since all the others iare set to -500.

If you could advise me which column number in my picture correspond to your list names above, that would help greatly.

Also one more question.  How do I go about creating a portal or zone swirl (like you see going into instances or battlegrounds).  I would like to use zone swirls (sorry for not knowing what their called lol) in order to make people use them to transition into another area.

Anyway, I greatly appreciate your help.  I have uploaded an image of what I'm talking about in my dbceditor to photobucket but can't post links.  Is there anyway I can submit the image to you so you can see it?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: 10 - Add a full new map from scratch
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2014, 01:52:28 pm »
Just adda as attechment?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

thkaal

  • Registred Member
  • BLP Convertor
  • *****
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: 10 - Add a full new map from scratch
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2014, 04:20:54 am »
But seriously, how do you get noggit to read the map?  I have doe all of it, and noggit is not reading the map, even when I tell noggit right where to go.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: 10 - Add a full new map from scratch
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2014, 01:53:50 pm »
Then you did something wrong. It always works. I never had any setup where it not works fine after i just set the stuff right. And to see what you did wrong we need logfile and config file on pastbin.

Because how should we else find out where the problem is. We dont have some glas bowls here ;)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

Jermanfu

  • Registred Member
  • BLP Convertor
  • *****
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: 10 - Add a full new map from scratch
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2014, 11:08:56 pm »
I apologize for taking so long to get back.   My line of work is in emergency services and I've basically been stranded at work without a computer for the past few days due to some inclement weather.  

In any case, Everything seems to be back in order and I'm back to civilization! lol

Thanks for your patience.  Here is a picture of my dbceditor. I just can't figure out which columns are which.  For some reason mine doesn't have names for the columns but only numbers as you can see on the attachment.

Because of this, I'm not quite sure what exploreflag, SRefName and heiger ID are.  I'm sure it's just staring me in the face.  Anyway, if you could take a look at the attachment when you get a chance and see what I'm talking about.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: 10 - Add a full new map from scratch
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2014, 04:52:47 pm »
For first help :)

http://www.wowdev.wiki/index.php ... aTable.dbc

Copy this files to your MyDBCEditor folder. Then cols will be named. Will update the pack so they are inlcuded for future.

#http://modcraft.io/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=3800
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

Jermanfu

  • Registred Member
  • BLP Convertor
  • *****
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: 10 - Add a full new map from scratch
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2014, 10:36:04 pm »
Quote from: "Steff"
For first help :)

http://www.wowdev.wiki/index.php ... aTable.dbc

Copy this files to your MyDBCEditor folder. Then cols will be named. Will update the pack so they are inlcuded for future.

#http://modcraft.io/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=3800

Outstanding!!  Thanks so much, Seff.  That helps tremendously.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

thkaal

  • Registred Member
  • BLP Convertor
  • *****
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: 10 - Add a full new map from scratch
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2014, 02:06:03 am »
I didn't realize i had to put the map into a mpq file.  I did that and it worked just fine.  Sorry for the conofusion.  Now I'm working on finding where futa exports heightmaps to.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: 10 - Add a full new map from scratch
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2014, 06:45:52 am »
You should do tutorials part by part.  The mpq stuff was handled in part 5.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

Nirelz

  • Registred Member
  • BLP Convertor
  • *****
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: 10 - Add a full new map from scratch
« Reply #10 on: July 28, 2014, 10:30:25 pm »
i cant seem to get the "menu" option to my zone working on Noggit but the map works fine ingame... its all empty but works...

any ideas?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: 10 - Add a full new map from scratch
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2014, 07:15:41 pm »
Missed to copy the dbcs to the noggit project folder?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

Nirelz

  • Registred Member
  • BLP Convertor
  • *****
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: 10 - Add a full new map from scratch
« Reply #12 on: August 08, 2014, 09:14:32 pm »
Hmm, yeh i think so. where is that mentioned?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

axel0099

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
    • View Profile
Re: 10 - Add a full new map from scratch
« Reply #13 on: August 09, 2014, 05:49:51 pm »
Probably made a mistake making the adts, try to find a clean adt, though the tut tells you to use tallis i prefer not to, try to find a clean base adt and throw it into the adt adder, you probably know thr coords, then  throw your adts generated by adtadder into riu's zonemasher to generate a wdt gg
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: 10 - Add a full new map from scratch
« Reply #14 on: August 10, 2014, 08:28:31 am »
This tut you are writing in axel do not tell you tonuse taliis.  So this can not be the problem.

So you mapnworms ingame bjt is nkt shkwn up in noggit menu?
Habe you in your project path the dbfilesclient/map.dbc file and there your map in?
And is it type 0?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954