This is a read only copy without any forum functionality of the old Modcraft forum.
If there is anything that you would like to have removed, message me on Discord via Kaev#5208.
Big thanks to Alastor for making this copy!

Menu

Author Topic: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2  (Read 19696 times)

Tigurius

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
[TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
« on: February 09, 2010, 06:09:57 pm »
HowTo: Convert WC3(mdx) to WoW(m2) models!

Needed Tools:

For WC3:
        blplab
        MdlxConv
For WoW:
        BLPConverter
        ConverterMDX
       
To Convert the BLP from Version 1.0(WC3) to 2.0(WoW):
   Open the BLP1 with blplab and save it as PNG, then convert the PNG with BLPConverter to BLP2.
   
To Convert the Model:
   If your model is missing important parts(like Bones,Transparency etc.):
      Convert the MDX with MdlxConv to MDL and open the MDL in Notepad.
         Textures:
            You might need to add them by hand, the code is:
            
Code: [Select]
Textures 1 {
Bitmap {
Image "CustomItemdmT.blp",
}
}
         Transparency:
            For every Geoset you need:
            
Code: [Select]
GeosetAnim {
Alpha 1 {
DontInterp,
0: 1.000000,
}
GeosetId 0,
}
         Sequences/Anims:
            You need atleast one:
            
Code: [Select]
Sequences 1 {
Anim "Stand" {
Interval { 0, 3333 },
                MinimumExtent { -0.656940, -2.999150, -2.449310 },
                MaximumExtent { 0.550530, 21.822701, 1.284070 },
                BoundsRadius 12.463241,
}
}
         Materials:
            Should also be included(Renderflags...):
            
Code: [Select]
Materials 1 {
Material {
Layer {
FilterMode None,
static TextureID 0,
}
}
}
         Bones:
            Atleast one Bone must be in the model:
            
Code: [Select]
Bone "objHandle" {
ObjectId 0,
GeosetId 0,
GeosetAnimId None,
}

   Now convert it to MDX again(or try if it works with mdl,sometimes it doesn't) and open up a cmd-Window(shift+Left-Click).
   Then type: ConverterMDX <MDX> [optional: scale]
   
   Then the Converter will ask you some Questions(like AnimationIDs etc.), the AnimationIDs can be found in AnimationData.dbc
   NextAnimation can be -1 or the next Animation(...)
   subAnimID=which one of a row of Anims this is
   Camera Types are:
      Potrait = 0,
      CharInfo = 1,
      else -1
      
   Attachments are:
   
Code: [Select]
typedef enum <uint32>{
Mountpoint_or_LeftWrist =0,
Right_palm,
Left_palm,
Right_elbow,
Left_elbow,
Right_Shoulder,
Left_Shoulder,
Right_Knee,
Left_knee,
unk1,
unk2,
Helmet,
Back,
unk3,
unk4,
Bust,
Bust2,
Face,
Above_Char,
Ground,
Top_of_head,
Left_Palm2,
Right_Palm2,
unk5,
unk6,
unk7,
Right_Back_Sheath,
Left_Back_Sheath,
Middle_Back_Sheath,
Belly,
Left_Back,
Right_Back,
Left_Hip_Sheath,
Right_Hip_Sheath,
Bust3,
Right_Palm3,
unk8,
demolishervehicle1,
demolishervehicle2,
Vehicle_Seat1,
Vehicle_Seat2,
Vehicle_Seat3,
Vehicle_Seat4,
unk9,
unk10,
unk11,
unk12,
unk13
}ATTACHMENT_ID;
   where the first one is 0, the second 1 etc.
   
   Now just place all the files in the correct paths and you're done. Fine.

Download for all tools: http://www.file-upload.net/download-2242639/ConvPack.zip.html
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

KrakHed

  • Registred Member
  • MS Paint Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2010, 01:14:52 am »
It crashes when it gets to nbones.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

gorq

  • Contributors
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 141
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2010, 02:25:44 pm »
Some models crash. I think the more complex. Too many polys. Try to optimize the model or with another.
The problem i have is reescaling with mdxtom2 brokes my animations :(

Well, this is what i do:

1: i extract rabbit.m2 from my wow 2.4.3
2: i open the model with mdlvis and save it as .mdx
3. i open cmd and execute: mdxconverter rabbit.mdx 0.01
4. i introduce all animation ids, cameras and attachment points

the result is a well sized model but its animations have...been messed or..something extrange :S

Please help me, i dont know how to fix that
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

zimbb

  • Registred Member
  • BLP Convertor
  • *****
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2011, 03:45:03 pm »
Crash when "Geosets"
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

gorq

  • Contributors
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 141
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2011, 02:03:35 pm »
it depends on the model u are using. Not all mdx models can be converted. It does not convert optimized models from mdlvis too.

All conversions from mdx will get scaled 100 times. U can resize not animated models as item ones. Not creature/character ones.

Good luck  :uok:
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Zim4ik

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 407
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2011, 02:30:40 pm »
On which version of WoW it woks?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Tigurius

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2011, 05:33:24 pm »
on 3.x but it doesn't "work" it's fiddling around and sometimes creates a working model.^^
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Zim4ik

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 407
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
« Reply #7 on: March 11, 2011, 07:15:48 pm »
Can u make a video guide? i cant believe in that it can really works. I`ve seen earlier video with custom model of "worm". Impressive. But... Please make video guide.
And one thing. I`ve have mdx model of female worgen which contains all geosets. Can u help me to convert it to wotlk?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Zim4ik

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 407
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2011, 02:22:40 pm »
Fully working. Thank you, Tigurius.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2011, 04:57:19 pm by Admin »

Vel

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2011, 01:00:07 pm »
and do not forget that what we agreed on Skype about it.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
is no more

Zim4ik

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 407
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2011, 05:02:21 pm »
My bad) :ulol:
One thing, Tigurius, u`ve made greatest converter evar)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

SirFranc

  • Contributors
  • Model Change Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 209
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
« Reply #11 on: September 09, 2011, 11:08:55 am »
I still have problems with that converter.. i installed .net framework (4.0) and ran it by cmd but still crashes on "Started" also the model has been modified as you wrote, perhaps it's the wrong version of .net?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Join the True Roleplay!

inico

  • Contributors
  • Model Change Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 243
    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/inicocustom
Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2011, 02:00:24 pm »
Quote from: "SirFranc"
I still have problems with that converter.. i installed .net framework (4.0) and ran it by cmd but still crashes on "Started" also the model has been modified as you wrote, perhaps it's the wrong version of .net?

I had a similar problem:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=762

I installed .NET Framework 3.5 and it now works :)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

SirFranc

  • Contributors
  • Model Change Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 209
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
« Reply #13 on: September 14, 2011, 04:43:02 pm »
I wonder if you can use ModelEditor for Wc3 models to add bones and such, shouldn't be the same?

Also, i tried on a 4000 poly model, and crashes.. i don't think i can make it with less polies (it's a house)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Join the True Roleplay!

Sho

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
« Reply #14 on: September 14, 2011, 09:44:45 pm »
I understand most of it up to the point were im converting mdx to m2, I keep crashing when I put my model in wow, What I was doing was editing the blood elf model taking its ears and eyebrows out to make it look more human, anyways when im converting it I think somthing goes wrong. in the cmd when im converting it says Stand is the animation on the model, then asks for animation id of it from what I know, I think its 50. I got that from model viewer. then asks if there is another on there I put -1 because there isnt, then asks for a sub animation, I put just 0 because there is only 1 animation I think thats what Im supposed to do. then it does nothing else then says 1 bone and converts it, is that right? I dono if Im doing it right or what.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »