Modcraft - The community dedicated to quality WoW modding!

Content creation => Modelling and Animation => Tutorials => Topic started by: Tigurius on February 09, 2010, 06:09:57 pm

Title: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: Tigurius on February 09, 2010, 06:09:57 pm
HowTo: Convert WC3(mdx) to WoW(m2) models!

Needed Tools:

For WC3:
        blplab
        MdlxConv
For WoW:
        BLPConverter
        ConverterMDX
       
To Convert the BLP from Version 1.0(WC3) to 2.0(WoW):
   Open the BLP1 with blplab and save it as PNG, then convert the PNG with BLPConverter to BLP2.
   
To Convert the Model:
   If your model is missing important parts(like Bones,Transparency etc.):
      Convert the MDX with MdlxConv to MDL and open the MDL in Notepad.
         Textures:
            You might need to add them by hand, the code is:
            
Code: [Select]
Textures 1 {
Bitmap {
Image "CustomItemdmT.blp",
}
}
         Transparency:
            For every Geoset you need:
            
Code: [Select]
GeosetAnim {
Alpha 1 {
DontInterp,
0: 1.000000,
}
GeosetId 0,
}
         Sequences/Anims:
            You need atleast one:
            
Code: [Select]
Sequences 1 {
Anim "Stand" {
Interval { 0, 3333 },
                MinimumExtent { -0.656940, -2.999150, -2.449310 },
                MaximumExtent { 0.550530, 21.822701, 1.284070 },
                BoundsRadius 12.463241,
}
}
         Materials:
            Should also be included(Renderflags...):
            
Code: [Select]
Materials 1 {
Material {
Layer {
FilterMode None,
static TextureID 0,
}
}
}
         Bones:
            Atleast one Bone must be in the model:
            
Code: [Select]
Bone "objHandle" {
ObjectId 0,
GeosetId 0,
GeosetAnimId None,
}

   Now convert it to MDX again(or try if it works with mdl,sometimes it doesn't) and open up a cmd-Window(shift+Left-Click).
   Then type: ConverterMDX <MDX> [optional: scale]
   
   Then the Converter will ask you some Questions(like AnimationIDs etc.), the AnimationIDs can be found in AnimationData.dbc
   NextAnimation can be -1 or the next Animation(...)
   subAnimID=which one of a row of Anims this is
   Camera Types are:
      Potrait = 0,
      CharInfo = 1,
      else -1
      
   Attachments are:
   
Code: [Select]
typedef enum <uint32>{
Mountpoint_or_LeftWrist =0,
Right_palm,
Left_palm,
Right_elbow,
Left_elbow,
Right_Shoulder,
Left_Shoulder,
Right_Knee,
Left_knee,
unk1,
unk2,
Helmet,
Back,
unk3,
unk4,
Bust,
Bust2,
Face,
Above_Char,
Ground,
Top_of_head,
Left_Palm2,
Right_Palm2,
unk5,
unk6,
unk7,
Right_Back_Sheath,
Left_Back_Sheath,
Middle_Back_Sheath,
Belly,
Left_Back,
Right_Back,
Left_Hip_Sheath,
Right_Hip_Sheath,
Bust3,
Right_Palm3,
unk8,
demolishervehicle1,
demolishervehicle2,
Vehicle_Seat1,
Vehicle_Seat2,
Vehicle_Seat3,
Vehicle_Seat4,
unk9,
unk10,
unk11,
unk12,
unk13
}ATTACHMENT_ID;
   where the first one is 0, the second 1 etc.
   
   Now just place all the files in the correct paths and you're done. Fine.

Download for all tools: http://www.file-upload.net/download-2242639/ConvPack.zip.html
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: KrakHed on July 19, 2010, 01:14:52 am
It crashes when it gets to nbones.
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: gorq on October 03, 2010, 02:25:44 pm
Some models crash. I think the more complex. Too many polys. Try to optimize the model or with another.
The problem i have is reescaling with mdxtom2 brokes my animations :(

Well, this is what i do:

1: i extract rabbit.m2 from my wow 2.4.3
2: i open the model with mdlvis and save it as .mdx
3. i open cmd and execute: mdxconverter rabbit.mdx 0.01
4. i introduce all animation ids, cameras and attachment points

the result is a well sized model but its animations have...been messed or..something extrange :S

Please help me, i dont know how to fix that
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: zimbb on January 01, 2011, 03:45:03 pm
Crash when "Geosets"
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: gorq on January 13, 2011, 02:03:35 pm
it depends on the model u are using. Not all mdx models can be converted. It does not convert optimized models from mdlvis too.

All conversions from mdx will get scaled 100 times. U can resize not animated models as item ones. Not creature/character ones.

Good luck  :uok:
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: Zim4ik on March 02, 2011, 02:30:40 pm
On which version of WoW it woks?
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: Tigurius on March 11, 2011, 05:33:24 pm
on 3.x but it doesn't "work" it's fiddling around and sometimes creates a working model.^^
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: Zim4ik on March 11, 2011, 07:15:48 pm
Can u make a video guide? i cant believe in that it can really works. I`ve seen earlier video with custom model of "worm". Impressive. But... Please make video guide.
And one thing. I`ve have mdx model of female worgen which contains all geosets. Can u help me to convert it to wotlk?
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: Zim4ik on July 29, 2011, 02:22:40 pm
Fully working. Thank you, Tigurius.
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: Vel on July 30, 2011, 01:00:07 pm
and do not forget that what we agreed on Skype about it.
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: Zim4ik on July 30, 2011, 05:02:21 pm
My bad) :ulol:
One thing, Tigurius, u`ve made greatest converter evar)
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: SirFranc on September 09, 2011, 11:08:55 am
I still have problems with that converter.. i installed .net framework (4.0) and ran it by cmd but still crashes on "Started" also the model has been modified as you wrote, perhaps it's the wrong version of .net?
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: inico on September 09, 2011, 02:00:24 pm
Quote from: "SirFranc"
I still have problems with that converter.. i installed .net framework (4.0) and ran it by cmd but still crashes on "Started" also the model has been modified as you wrote, perhaps it's the wrong version of .net?

I had a similar problem:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=762 (http://modcraft.io/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=762" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;)

I installed .NET Framework 3.5 and it now works :)
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: SirFranc on September 14, 2011, 04:43:02 pm
I wonder if you can use ModelEditor for Wc3 models to add bones and such, shouldn't be the same?

Also, i tried on a 4000 poly model, and crashes.. i don't think i can make it with less polies (it's a house)
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: Sho on September 14, 2011, 09:44:45 pm
I understand most of it up to the point were im converting mdx to m2, I keep crashing when I put my model in wow, What I was doing was editing the blood elf model taking its ears and eyebrows out to make it look more human, anyways when im converting it I think somthing goes wrong. in the cmd when im converting it says Stand is the animation on the model, then asks for animation id of it from what I know, I think its 50. I got that from model viewer. then asks if there is another on there I put -1 because there isnt, then asks for a sub animation, I put just 0 because there is only 1 animation I think thats what Im supposed to do. then it does nothing else then says 1 bone and converts it, is that right? I dono if Im doing it right or what.
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: Sho on September 14, 2011, 09:50:01 pm
I understand most of it up to the point were im converting mdx to m2, I keep crashing when I put my model in wow, What I was doing was editing the blood elf model taking its ears and eyebrows out to make it look more human, anyways when im converting it I think somthing goes wrong. in the cmd when im converting it says Stand is the animation on the model, then asks for animation id of it from what I know, I think its 50. I got that from model viewer. then asks if there is another on there I put -1 because there isnt, then asks for a sub animation, I put just 0 because there is only 1 animation I think thats what Im supposed to do. then it does nothing else then says 1 bone and converts it, is that right? I dono if Im doing it right or what.
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: inico on September 17, 2011, 04:36:39 pm
Quote from: "Sho"
I understand most of it up to the point were im converting mdx to m2, I keep crashing when I put my model in wow, What I was doing was editing the blood elf model taking its ears and eyebrows out to make it look more human, anyways when im converting it I think somthing goes wrong. in the cmd when im converting it says Stand is the animation on the model, then asks for animation id of it from what I know, I think its 50. I got that from model viewer. then asks if there is another on there I put -1 because there isnt, then asks for a sub animation, I put just 0 because there is only 1 animation I think thats what Im supposed to do. then it does nothing else then says 1 bone and converts it, is that right? I dono if Im doing it right or what.

Models with a lot of animations (Wow Rips, for example) doesn't work in MDXTOM2. Use Blender instead.
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: SirFranc on September 19, 2011, 06:49:18 pm
Quote from: "inico"
Quote from: "Sho"
I understand most of it up to the point were im converting mdx to m2, I keep crashing when I put my model in wow, What I was doing was editing the blood elf model taking its ears and eyebrows out to make it look more human, anyways when im converting it I think somthing goes wrong. in the cmd when im converting it says Stand is the animation on the model, then asks for animation id of it from what I know, I think its 50. I got that from model viewer. then asks if there is another on there I put -1 because there isnt, then asks for a sub animation, I put just 0 because there is only 1 animation I think thats what Im supposed to do. then it does nothing else then says 1 bone and converts it, is that right? I dono if Im doing it right or what.

Models with a lot of animations (Wow Rips, for example) doesn't work in MDXTOM2. Use Blender instead.
I got the same error and my model is a house with a dummy "stand" animation :S
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: TheBuG on December 13, 2011, 03:37:34 pm
I actually managed to get Neodex's exporter for 3ds max and got my model imported in MDLvis. However the conversion from .mdx to .m2 seems to go wrong somewhere, but it doesn't give any errors and creates the files, but nothing shows up ingame or in the modelviewer.

I tried using the lazy converter but that one actually crashed :(.

Any idea?
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: phucko1 on December 13, 2011, 04:18:13 pm
Did you copy-paste your model to null model?
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: phucko1 on December 13, 2011, 04:35:33 pm
TheBuG and Franc is your models openable in mdlvis? Do you have null model? Copy paste your models' vertices to null model and then try converting again. (Warning this will make it use only 1 geoset :D
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: inico on December 13, 2011, 04:49:41 pm
Quote from: "TheBuG"
I actually managed to get Neodex's exporter for 3ds max and got my model imported in MDLvis. However the conversion from .mdx to .m2 seems to go wrong somewhere, but it doesn't give any errors and creates the files, but nothing shows up ingame or in the modelviewer.

I tried using the lazy converter but that one actually crashed :(.

Any idea?

You must create a geoset animation with Alpha 1:0 for every geoset. It will fix the problem :)
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: TheBuG on December 14, 2011, 11:44:10 pm
Quote from: "phucko1"
TheBuG and Franc is your models openable in mdlvis? Do you have null model? Copy paste your models' vertices to null model and then try converting again. (Warning this will make it use only 1 geoset :D

And how would this work? Would it fuck up my UV maps (as they're also bound to some of the geosets)?
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: Zim4ik on December 16, 2011, 06:15:37 am
I guess not. I have never fu my uvs with this converter
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: DJScias on December 18, 2013, 07:36:40 pm
Hello there,

First of all, thanks for this tutorial, it is simply marvelous.

Second of all, everything works up to the part of the mdx to m2 conversion. All bones are done and so are the animations.. But I just can't seem to figure out what you mean by:
NextAnimation can be -1 or the next Animation(...)
subAnimID=which one of a row of Anims this is

Is it possible to get a better explanation for NextAnimation and subAnimID?

Thank you in advance,

DJScias
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: Arid on December 24, 2013, 11:34:51 pm
Quote from: "DJScias"
Hello there,

First of all, thanks for this tutorial, it is simply marvelous.

Second of all, everything works up to the part of the mdx to m2 conversion. All bones are done and so are the animations.. But I just can't seem to figure out what you mean by:
NextAnimation can be -1 or the next Animation(...)
subAnimID=which one of a row of Anims this is

Is it possible to get a better explanation for NextAnimation and subAnimID?

Thank you in advance,

DJScias

Where the hell have you been dude?
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: Lawes on January 21, 2015, 04:57:14 pm
someone can uplaod again the pack ? i need :(
Title: Re: [TUTORIAL] Convert MDX ->M2
Post by: xJKz on June 21, 2017, 03:15:14 pm
Big bump I'm sorry but, there's someone got this please ?