This is a read only copy without any forum functionality of the old Modcraft forum.
If there is anything that you would like to have removed, message me on Discord via Kaev#5208.
Big thanks to Alastor for making this copy!

Menu

Author Topic: [QUESTION] Areatrigger  (Read 4321 times)

Jameyboor

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
[QUESTION] Areatrigger
« on: December 19, 2012, 06:11:24 pm »
So, I got this island, but I dont want people to swim off the island, so I made a custom areatrigger in areatrigger.dbc ( not sure if it works) then I added a row in areatrigger_script and made an areatrigger script that teleports you back, now it should work, only I think teleporting is a bit dull so I want something more realistic, like when the player crosses the line, two guards get summoned, they knock him out, screen fades, screen comes up again and hes somewhere else, anyone knows how to make such an animation?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Areatrigger
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2012, 08:33:12 pm »
You may add a screeneffect, which is triggered by a spell, which is cast on the player.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Jameyboor

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Areatrigger
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2012, 08:37:56 pm »
Thanks for answering Schlumpf could you tell me where I can find those screeneffects, and is there another way to apply them  then normal spells ? ( via dbc )
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Areatrigger
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2012, 09:33:38 pm »
I don't know about any other way. The guards attacking the player may cast them.
ScreenEffects are in a DBC.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Jameyboor

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Areatrigger
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2012, 09:54:26 pm »
Quote from: "schlumpf"
I don't know about any other way. The guards attacking the player may cast them.
ScreenEffects are in a DBC.
Okay thanks man, I'm going to try it now.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Crumpet

  • Contributors
  • LUA Script Tinker
  • *****
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Areatrigger
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2012, 10:32:02 pm »
It sounds like you should be making an areatrigger script rather than anything in the dbc. That way you can script the whole guard event in. Something a bit like this.

Areatrigger script (invisible trigger npc) with any necessary conditions, freezes player and summons 2 guards when triggered, set movepoints for guards via script to offsets of the player location, guards cast (via script) simultaneous stun visual (spell) and player is teleported.

All very possible without too much hard work.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Jameyboor

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Areatrigger
« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2012, 12:41:53 am »
thanks for replying and I know that the thing can be done in C++ and I know I can do it, it was the reality made by the black screen that concerns me.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Areatrigger
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2012, 07:43:34 am »
I also try to DONT use scripts if not needed :)
Like portals, never used script for this. All DBCs.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

XxXGenesisXxX

  • Contributors
  • Model Change Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Areatrigger
« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2012, 08:27:19 am »
Quote from: "Steff"
I also try to DONT use scripts if not needed :)
Like portals, never used script for this. All DBCs.

While I do agree, DBC's still require custom patches. Although this community doesn't, many people, if not the majority of servers try to avoid custom patches.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Jameyboor

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Areatrigger
« Reply #9 on: December 20, 2012, 01:08:42 pm »
I've duplicated http://www.wowhead.com/spell=50010 in spell.dbc and only the spell IDand changed column 111 cause the value stated : 61 and that value was an ID in ScreenEffect.dbc , I also duplicated the ghost effect from screeneffect.dbc and changed some parts, so I changed column 111 of my custom spell to = 800 ( my custom screeneffect ID) then I saved it, made a patch with screeneffect and spell.dbc in it, placed it in the wow/data/enGB folder, restarted everything and entered the world, did the .learn command but nothing happened ( no error message aswell) then I did .learn again and it said that I already knew this spell, then I tried .cast spellid, didn't work aswell, am I doing something wrong/missing a step?

^TrinityCore
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Areatrigger
« Reply #10 on: December 20, 2012, 01:28:26 pm »
Quote from: "Jameyboor"
didn't work aswell,
How did not working show?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Jameyboor

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Areatrigger
« Reply #11 on: December 20, 2012, 02:33:01 pm »
Quote from: "schlumpf"
Quote from: "Jameyboor"
didn't work aswell,
How did not working show?
I did .cast, it just did nothing, no error no visual just nothing
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Areatrigger
« Reply #12 on: December 20, 2012, 02:36:52 pm »
You should have the spell in your spell book, which is a nicer way to cast it.
Also, if there is no error given, it casted just fine. Most likely your spell is broken then.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Jameyboor

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Areatrigger
« Reply #13 on: December 20, 2012, 02:59:25 pm »
Quote from: "schlumpf"
You should have the spell in your spell book, which is a nicer way to cast it.
Also, if there is no error given, it casted just fine. Most likely your spell is broken then.
I made a copy of Heroic Strike aswell one week ago, when I learned that it didnt show up in my spellbook, and when I casted it nothing happened aswell, so it's just something I am not doing the proper way instead of that the visual is broken.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Areatrigger
« Reply #14 on: December 20, 2012, 03:05:47 pm »
Does the server know about the modified spell.dbc?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »