This is a read only copy without any forum functionality of the old Modcraft forum.
If there is anything that you would like to have removed, message me on Discord via Kaev#5208.
Big thanks to Alastor for making this copy!

Menu

Author Topic: Changing the Z position of ADT tiles  (Read 4583 times)

Dracbane

  • Registred Member
  • Loreweaver
  • *****
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Changing the Z position of ADT tiles
« on: August 17, 2013, 06:06:45 pm »
I am currently working with the ADT converter the Will/Anthony released on here.  I have been working on the Abyssal Maw map and have run into an issue.  All of the terrain in the map is under the death line(aka you go so far down on the map you die). These converted maps will not open up in Noggit and I have tried using the Rius Zone Masher to change the Z position of the map but so far that has just caused the maps to break and wow to crash. Is there any other way to fix this issue?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the Z position of ADT tiles
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2013, 06:10:06 pm »
{MDDF, MODF}.pos.z
MCNK[].base.z

http://www.wowdev.wiki/index.php?title=ADT

Use a hex editor or write a small application. Or ask someone to write one.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Dracbane

  • Registred Member
  • Loreweaver
  • *****
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the Z position of ADT tiles
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2013, 06:48:52 pm »
Quote from: "schlumpf"
{MDDF, MODF}.pos.z
MCNK[].base.z

http://www.wowdev.wiki/index.php?title=ADT

Use a hex editor or write a small application. Or ask someone to write one.

I have one of the ADTs opened up in 010 Editor atm.  I am looking throught the MCNK chuck right now but I am not seeing a reference to z.  The wiki doesnt really seem to mention the z position either in this chunk.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the Z position of ADT tiles
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2013, 06:56:26 pm »
Quote
Code: [Select]
/*0x068*/  Vec3f position;
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Dracbane

  • Registred Member
  • Loreweaver
  • *****
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the Z position of ADT tiles
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2013, 07:25:51 pm »
Quote from: "schlumpf"
Quote
Code: [Select]
/*0x068*/  Vec3f position;

Thanks!  Will def need to get a program to change that. Only a couple billion in each ADT :P
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the Z position of ADT tiles
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2013, 11:05:06 am »
010editor allows to write scripts, which should be enough.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Dracbane

  • Registred Member
  • Loreweaver
  • *****
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the Z position of ADT tiles
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2013, 03:15:03 pm »
Quote from: "schlumpf"
010editor allows to write scripts, which should be enough.
Yeah, I am going to attempt to write a script in there. Never having done so could end interestingly lol
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Gurluas

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 344
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the Z position of ADT tiles
« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2013, 12:30:19 am »
did you have any success?, I have the same issue with Vashj'ir.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Dracbane

  • Registred Member
  • Loreweaver
  • *****
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the Z position of ADT tiles
« Reply #8 on: August 24, 2013, 07:30:10 am »
Quote from: "Gurluas"
did you have any success?, I have the same issue with Vashj'ir.

Sorry about the delay in the reply.  If I ever get a day or two off work that I can sit down and try to learn what I am doing and make it, I will share it.  Not sure when that will be though.  Off season at work should start soon.....I hope....
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Gurluas

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 344
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the Z position of ADT tiles
« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2013, 08:22:25 pm »
I hope so, good luck! This would mean a lot to me :)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Dracbane

  • Registred Member
  • Loreweaver
  • *****
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the Z position of ADT tiles
« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2013, 10:14:20 pm »
Quote from: "Gurluas"
I hope so, good luck! This would mean a lot to me :)

I think it would help a good number of people.  I know Vashjir and Abyssal Maw have this issue, and I think a few other Cata+ maps might also.  I also want to use it on one of the dungeons from wrath.  It has a massive zone(partial) beneath it that I want to do something with.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

PhilipTNG

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the Z position of ADT tiles
« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2013, 08:41:40 am »
XDD, I just made them all 100 and now it looks like a really bad puzzle, doodads seemd to have dissapeared, they aren't beneath me either, I looked with a no clip hack just to make sure..



I reckon that even if they were prefectly aligned, the objects probably still wouldn't be there.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the Z position of ADT tiles
« Reply #12 on: August 27, 2013, 08:58:23 am »
MDDF uses a different coordinate system than MCNK, iirc. Instead of z, you set y or x, thus that acid is close to the center of the whole map.

You probably want to use += instead and change the axis for MDDF.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

PhilipTNG

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the Z position of ADT tiles
« Reply #13 on: August 27, 2013, 09:55:10 am »
Quote from: "schlumpf"
MDDF uses a different coordinate system than MCNK, iirc. Instead of z, you set y or x, thus that acid is close to the center of the whole map.

You probably want to use += instead and change the axis for MDDF.

Schlump, you're the greatest! ^_^ You've done so much for the modding community and I don't think most people even realize it.  >.<   ;)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the Z position of ADT tiles
« Reply #14 on: August 27, 2013, 10:02:16 am »
*axis

stupid auto correct when in shower
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »