This is a read only copy without any forum functionality of the old Modcraft forum.
If there is anything that you would like to have removed, message me on Discord via Kaev#5208.
Big thanks to Alastor for making this copy!

Menu

Author Topic: Can't add a M2/WMO  (Read 1419 times)

Namok

  • Registred Member
  • Loreweaver
  • *****
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
Can't add a M2/WMO
« on: April 14, 2014, 10:25:21 am »
I noticed I can't add a m2 or a WMO through the option "from text file" while I completed these lines. I can only add the objects that I did "to text file" and after they appear in the option "from text files" I even deleted the file "import.txt" but my objects list (from text file) show me the last objects I used. have you got and idea how can I fix it ? Because there are not a lot of tools to modding on Mac, unfortunately.
Thank for reading :)
Namok
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Food, food, food.

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: Can't add a M2/WMO
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2014, 07:57:28 pm »
First solution would be. To i. Stall windows ;)

Noggit to text file write the path to the omport. Txt and from just load the models from there.
Perhaps you deleted the wrong file?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

iindigo

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 198
    • View Profile
Re: Can't add a M2/WMO
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2014, 09:18:12 pm »
Noggit is a little bit funky in the way it’s set up; it was primarily developed as a Windows program so it does some things strangely on OS X.

Your problem is that Noggit can’t find your config file, so it isn’t using your import.txt. I’ve been told by schlumpf that Noggit will look for noggit.conf in your current working directory and to do the following:

1. Open terminal
2. cd [path to where your config file is]
3. Launching noggit through the same terminal

Unforunately, this doesn’t seem to work at all for me. Noggit continues to ignore the conf file.

Screenshot for reference:

« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: Can't add a M2/WMO
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2014, 10:30:25 pm »
You may want to add in std::string Noggit::getGamePath():

Code: [Select]
std::cout << getwd(NULL) << std::endl;
Then you know the working directory used.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

iindigo

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 198
    • View Profile
Re: Can't add a M2/WMO
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2014, 05:40:28 am »
I’ve successfully modified my local copy of the noggit source to do two things:

1) Centralize default config paths in a common method (as opposed to dropping “noggit.conf” strings everywhere)
2) Use more standardized directories for noggit.config and related files on some platforms — to be exact,
Code: [Select]
~/Library/Application Support/Noggit SDL/ on OS X and
Code: [Select]
~/.noggit-sdl/ on Linux. Windows is unchanged and still looks at the current working directory, since the Windows convention is to keep config files along with the executable.

Is there any reason to not publish these changes? It’s a tiny bit more maintainable and helps to keep threads like this from happening.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: Can't add a M2/WMO
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2014, 05:57:29 am »
If it works.  And you tested it feel free. To push.

Also compiled bins for the two platforms would be nice.
I can add the links to the release threads.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

iindigo

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 198
    • View Profile
Re: Can't add a M2/WMO
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2014, 06:15:27 am »
I have yet to test the changes on Windows but will try to get around to it tomorrow.

I’d be happy to provide an OS X binary. Let me see if I can figure out how to properly link against and include libraries so my binaries will run elsewhere.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »