This is a read only copy without any forum functionality of the old Modcraft forum.
If there is anything that you would like to have removed, message me on Discord via Kaev#5208.
Big thanks to Alastor for making this copy!

Menu

Author Topic: Increase Time Speed  (Read 2070 times)

TheMetalCarrots

  • Registred Member
  • Loreweaver
  • *****
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Increase Time Speed
« on: June 08, 2016, 10:57:42 am »
So, as you probably all know, time in WoW is a 24 hour thing that is based upon the Server/Client's time. I was wondering if there was any way to speed up this time so, say, 1 hour in current game time was 1 minute (like Skyrim), so 24 minutes would span a 24 hour cycle (or something along those lines) if at all possible.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Kaev

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 308
    • View Profile
Re: Increase Time Speed
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2016, 11:05:19 am »
Do you only want shorter days and nights? If yes, afaik there's a database entry which is handling this. Can't test it for you atm, but i think it was in game_events. Correct me if it was in a different table.

If you also want to change the clock, you probably have to mess with some code. Rochet2 gave a hint here: https://community.trinitycore.org/topic ... nightdawn/
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

TheMetalCarrots

  • Registred Member
  • Loreweaver
  • *****
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Re: Increase Time Speed
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2016, 11:17:10 am »
Thanks, I'll have a look at the Game_event entry as it seems to be exactly what I'm looking for.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Alastor

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 1105
    • View Profile
Re: Increase Time Speed
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2016, 11:17:37 am »
Time speed exactly is handled by client side

some hacks or Machinima Camera Tool (which is basicaly hack too ) can edit time speed by editing certain address in memory i gues it

and if I am correct time is on these addreses

TimeMinutes = 0x00D37F98
TimeHours = 0x00D37F9C
TimeSpeed = 0x00D37FC8
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
No matter how fast light travels it finds the darkness has always got there first and is waiting for it
Star Citizen Referral Code : STAR-XNFS-HVL9

TheMetalCarrots

  • Registred Member
  • Loreweaver
  • *****
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Re: Increase Time Speed
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2016, 12:14:26 pm »
Looks like the Game_event doesn't visually change anything in game (which isn't the desired effect I was going for), so I'll take a look at doing what Rochet2 said, considering I haven't the first clue what I'm supposed to do with this memory editing thing.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Alastor

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 1105
    • View Profile
Re: Increase Time Speed
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2016, 01:47:31 pm »
Pick up TimeaScale Address and Start WoW
Start CheatEngine add Adress manualy insert Time Scale Address ( use float variable ) and you'll that constant speed is 0.16 or similiar number i dont rly remember it now so just change time speed to for example 5 and you have it time was changed so that constatnt time that will be there once you load it needs to be bigegr if you want to have 1 sec equal to one minute and after all i would recomed to write program that would change time for you

Aaaand if you want to change this time permanetly you can try to find this constant time in wow.exe and change the number izi pizi lemon squzi

here is MLG video Tut ( just fun parody but it rly works )
MLG made in 20 mins not a big deal
[media:1cp1js31]https://youtu.be/NOmuGKWFgeQ[/media:1cp1js31]
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
No matter how fast light travels it finds the darkness has always got there first and is waiting for it
Star Citizen Referral Code : STAR-XNFS-HVL9

Kaev

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 308
    • View Profile
Re: Increase Time Speed
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2016, 03:13:06 pm »
Quote from: "Alastor"
Time speed exactly is handled by client side

some hacks or Machinima Camera Tool (which is basicaly hack too ) can edit time speed by editing certain address in memory i gues it

and if I am correct time is on these addreses

TimeMinutes = 0x00D37F98
TimeHours = 0x00D37F9C
TimeSpeed = 0x00D37FC8
Are you sure that it's only clientside? I'm pretty sure i saw someone else asking the same question and he got it working by changing something in the database. Maybe i'll find the thread, give me some time.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Alastor

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 1105
    • View Profile
Re: Increase Time Speed
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2016, 03:44:20 pm »
I dont know if its only client only to asure you but i know that you can just change client time scale manualy
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
No matter how fast light travels it finds the darkness has always got there first and is waiting for it
Star Citizen Referral Code : STAR-XNFS-HVL9

Amaroth

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 1219
    • View Profile
    • Amaroth's Tools
Re: Increase Time Speed
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2016, 11:14:46 pm »
I doubt this can be simply achieved by databases, while both client and server side times are being taken from local system time (Time.Now?)

Btw, game_event is for something entirely else, that table has nothing to do with this. Its basically just for timed periodical database scripts for spawns and a few other things, but doesn't touch time at all, it just uses it.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
English YT tutorial channel. Check it out if you preffer videos over walls of text.:
https://www.youtube.com/AmarothEng

Want to support me for my releases and/or tutorials? You can send donation via Paypal to:
jantoms@seznam.cz

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: Increase Time Speed
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2016, 01:21:52 pm »
As fare I know this is controled by servertime. Try to change the servertime and have a look waht client displays. If then you can change it in core.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

Alastor

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 1105
    • View Profile
Re: Increase Time Speed
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2016, 04:09:37 pm »
Client can use Server Time or Local Time so there could be problem if you would like to change tiem for everyone since some of them could have setuped local time which is theirs PC
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
No matter how fast light travels it finds the darkness has always got there first and is waiting for it
Star Citizen Referral Code : STAR-XNFS-HVL9

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: Increase Time Speed
« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2016, 05:00:39 pm »
Quote from: "Alastor"
Client can use Server Time or Local Time so there could be problem if you would like to change tiem for everyone since some of them could have setuped local time which is theirs PC

But that's already what happens: there is a server defined time of day. You can easily notice that by logging into Beta from EU: ingame time of day will be US time of day.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Rochet2

  • Contributors
  • Polygonshifter
  • *****
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
    • http://rochet2.github.io/
Re: Increase Time Speed
« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2016, 06:21:31 pm »
You can change the clock time that is sent from server to client and you can separately alter the speed of time passing.
It will control the sun rising and setting and the lighting like lamps etc.

It looks fun when the world goes fast.


In TC see Player::SendInitialPacketsBeforeAddToMap
sending of SMSG_LOGIN_SETTIMESPEED packet.
in player.cpp
both can be done in the same packet.

There might be another packet that updates the time or something. Search "time" in opcodes.cpp
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »