This is a read only copy without any forum functionality of the old Modcraft forum.
If there is anything that you would like to have removed, message me on Discord via Kaev#5208.
Big thanks to Alastor for making this copy!

Menu

Author Topic: [SOLVED]  Custom Dungeon Modification  (Read 8508 times)

stoneharry

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
    • View Profile
Re: [NOT SOLVED] Custom Dungeon Modification
« Reply #15 on: November 10, 2014, 01:08:31 pm »
Quote from: "instig"
Would you be able to explain what I should edit exactly In the server side code.

Secondly, when you mention server side code, do you mean editing the dbc files and adding a patch, or do you mean editing the code its self by going into the trinity core code and editing the cpp files?

Thanks,

Instig

You would modify where GetInstanceInfo() is called in the client side interface code. See what the return values are, if it's the incorrect values for that map then change what is displayed. This is going to be in the InterfaceFrameXML files.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

instig

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: [NOT SOLVED] Custom Dungeon Modification
« Reply #16 on: November 10, 2014, 07:00:20 pm »
I have tried looking for GetInstanceInfo() in the cpp files. It apparently doesn't exist.

The only files I have is:

- instance_<name>
- MapInstanced
- InstanceScript
- InstanceSaveMGR

Apart from these, it doesn't exist.

I don't know what you mean by "InterfaceFrameXML" Files. The only interface Folder I have is:

- World of Warcraft > Interface > Addons >  Blizzard Calender.... AuctionUI... InspectUI.... and so on.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

phantomx

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: [NOT SOLVED] Custom Dungeon Modification
« Reply #17 on: November 10, 2014, 07:07:54 pm »
Quote from: "instig"
- World of Warcraft > Interface > Addons >  Blizzard Calender.... AuctionUI... InspectUI.... and so on.

He means the folders inside of your MPQ files not the Wow directory.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
[wimg]http://i.imgur.com/6fxUQL1.gif[/wimg]

instig

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: [NOT SOLVED] Custom Dungeon Modification
« Reply #18 on: November 10, 2014, 07:16:52 pm »
Ah right! Thanks.

I am in the MPQ patch file, and found FrameXML. However, I have not found anything related to dungeons or instances, unless I am looking for the wrong item, or at the wrong thing.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

stoneharry

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
    • View Profile
Re: [NOT SOLVED] Custom Dungeon Modification
« Reply #19 on: November 10, 2014, 07:38:48 pm »
Quote from: "instig"
Ah right! Thanks.

I am in the MPQ patch file, and found FrameXML. However, I have not found anything related to dungeons or instances, unless I am looking for the wrong item, or at the wrong thing.

Open all of them with notepad++, search all open files for that function to see where it is called.

I cannot look at this right now, won't be at my home environment for a while.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

instig

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: [NOT SOLVED] Custom Dungeon Modification
« Reply #20 on: November 10, 2014, 07:41:59 pm »
Ugh that will take a long time. There is like 40.

Will be easier just to create an algorithm to look through all the text files for that particular word.

Thanks anyway, if I can't find it, I'll tell you.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

instig

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: [NOT SOLVED] Custom Dungeon Modification
« Reply #21 on: November 10, 2014, 08:00:49 pm »
I've looked through each file in "FramesXML".

Unfortunately, I have found nothing relating to "getInstanceinfo()".

I have found somethings related to instance, but that has been:

- get number of players (get whether user is in party or not)
- get reset timer
- get party number

Nothing has related to what I am looking for.

Just a question here: how will this be relevant to helping me with the dungeon? Bare in mind, that normal dungeons already show the number '5' on the banner. It is only when the dungeon is converted to heroic (custom heroic dungeon) that is when it is 0.

I have tried in looking for it, but I will wait for your response, since you will know exactly what to change.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

stoneharry

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
    • View Profile
Re: [NOT SOLVED] Custom Dungeon Modification
« Reply #22 on: November 10, 2014, 08:36:51 pm »
Quote from: "instig"
I've looked through each file in "FramesXML".

Unfortunately, I have found nothing relating to "getInstanceinfo()".

I have found somethings related to instance, but that has been:

- get number of players (get whether user is in party or not)
- get reset timer
- get party number

Nothing has related to what I am looking for.

Just a question here: how will this be relevant to helping me with the dungeon? Bare in mind, that normal dungeons already show the number '5' on the banner. It is only when the dungeon is converted to heroic (custom heroic dungeon) that is when it is 0.

I have tried in looking for it, but I will wait for your response, since you will know exactly what to change.

Notepad++ has search in all open documents:



Makes searching easy. I said that function name because Schlumpf said it is the function that is called. If you are able to find where this function is called then you can also check what map the player is on and artificially change the variable to what it should display in those conditions. This is a hack, not a very good solution.

I can look at it better when I get home tomorrow afternoon ish.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

instig

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: [NOT SOLVED] Custom Dungeon Modification
« Reply #23 on: November 10, 2014, 09:06:36 pm »
Hmm, I don't like the word 'not a good solution' - is there a way to add this to a new patch, i.e. Patch 4, add that to the MPQ folder.

I have used the search function on each one, and it doesn't seem to exist, however, I might have missed it going through so many.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

stoneharry

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
    • View Profile
Re: [NOT SOLVED] Custom Dungeon Modification
« Reply #24 on: November 10, 2014, 10:14:08 pm »
Quote from: "instig"
Hmm, I don't like the word 'not a good solution' - is there a way to add this to a new patch, i.e. Patch 4, add that to the MPQ folder.

I have used the search function on each one, and it doesn't seem to exist, however, I might have missed it going through so many.

It comes from the MPQs so obviously goes back into them.

Extract FrameXML folder -> open it -> ctrl A to select all files -> right click, 'edit with notepad++'.

Now press ctrl F, type in what you want to search, then click 'search in all open documents'.

There is no need to search each file one at a time.

Again, I can see if this can be hacked together another day. It is not a good solution but that is why I said it could be a last resort if you can't figure out the proper way to do it.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

instig

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: [NOT SOLVED] Custom Dungeon Modification
« Reply #25 on: November 11, 2014, 06:12:50 pm »
I have done what you asked and getinstanceinfo doesn't exist.

What would you suggest now?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

stoneharry

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
    • View Profile
Re: [NOT SOLVED] Custom Dungeon Modification
« Reply #26 on: November 11, 2014, 09:53:42 pm »
Quote from: "instig"
I have done what you asked and getinstanceinfo doesn't exist.

What would you suggest now?

See what schlumpf was talking about / find the correct area of code. I have a tight deadline to meet @ uni tonight so I cannot look but will when I get a chance.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

stoneharry

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
    • View Profile
Re: [NOT SOLVED] Custom Dungeon Modification
« Reply #27 on: November 15, 2014, 07:37:36 pm »
So you didn't look in the code that well as I just had a peek.



This function returns a lot of variables:

Code: [Select]
name, type, difficultyIndex, difficultyName, maxPlayers, dynamicDifficulty,
    isDynamic, mapID = GetInstanceInfo()

So if name == your custom map, or mapId == your custom map, then set the variables as you want, else let the normal code run.

A hacky but easy solution.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

instig

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: [NOT SOLVED] Custom Dungeon Modification
« Reply #28 on: November 17, 2014, 02:03:13 pm »
Oh, interesting.

I will have a look at that tonight.

I have been busy myself with assignments, so I have not had time to check.

Thank you for your help thus far.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

instig

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: [NOT SOLVED] Custom Dungeon Modification
« Reply #29 on: November 17, 2014, 07:35:04 pm »
I have looked over the Lua file, with no success.

I have made sure the values in my MapDifficulty match up to the values it states in the Lua file.

It still displays the value 0.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »