This is a read only copy without any forum functionality of the old Modcraft forum.
If there is anything that you would like to have removed, message me on Discord via Kaev#5208.
Big thanks to Alastor for making this copy!

Menu

Author Topic: [TOOL] [Adt edit] ADT Converter  (Read 35079 times)

fean

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: [TOOL] [Adt edit] ADT Converter
« Reply #30 on: June 20, 2012, 07:32:38 am »
Last time I heard, ADT Converter was written in Java, not in C++
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Mjollna

  • Contributors
  • Model Change Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
Re: [TOOL] [Adt edit] ADT Converter
« Reply #31 on: June 20, 2012, 07:47:27 am »
You're not talking about the same project here. The adt converter is a java project we made last summer, and that converts classic format to cata format.
The repo is public as well, it's here : https://bitbucket.org/Mjollna/adtconverter/overview

What you're talking about is gillijim project, and it's both a partial alpha 2003 conversion utility (no objects !), and a playground for me to learn cpp.

So to answer your question : Gp is closer to a lib than a program, so you can't just compile and execute, that won't get you any result... Actually you'll get my latest tests. You have to edit yourself main.cpp to make gp do what you want.
There's no documentation (sorry !), but you can use the commented stuff in main.cpp to have an idea of what you can do. Most of the things are already there, so it shouldn't be too hard to have a working program from that.

About the alpha conversion itself, it's unfinished and half broken, so...
Terrain works, but mcnk is not totally clean (the header is quite chaotic, size is not good, coords are wrong...), so it should crash on 335, but a friend told me the other day it works ingame, and that is quite unexpected xD
"Converted" adts won't work properly in Noggit because of the mcnk header being wrong in gp. You can load them anyway, all chunks are piled up and it's fun to see :D
Conversion of terrain in gp + adt converter (the program I linked a the top of the post) makes working terrain and tex0 adts ingame.
Objects are ignored for the moment, it's not implemented.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

fean

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: [TOOL] [Adt edit] ADT Converter
« Reply #32 on: June 20, 2012, 09:12:21 am »
Quote from: "Mjollna"
Terrain works, but mcnk is not totally clean (the header is quite chaotic, size is not good, coords are wrong...), so it should crash on 335, but a friend told me the other day it works ingame, and that is quite unexpected xD
Indeed it works, and I wonder which one of us was more surprised :P
Quote from: "Mjollna"
"Converted" adts won't work properly in Noggit because of the mcnk header being wrong in gp. You can load them anyway, all chunks are piled up and it's fun to see :D
Yup, opening those adt in Noggit will result in a "mille-feuilles" like this : http://puu.sh/uHtC & http://puu.sh/uHvi
Quite funny.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

akspa420

  • Registred Member
  • Polygonshifter
  • *****
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: [TOOL] [Adt edit] ADT Converter
« Reply #33 on: June 21, 2012, 12:09:56 am »
Consider me impressed. This tool was also able to convert the water from the alpha maps. WoW 3.3.5 is working beautifully with the old terrain. I'm using one of the "Norwegian Elite Wotlk" server repacks, which has a lot of custom gameobjects, as well as wow-like gameobjects, so it's a bit easier to navigate :D
- Screenshot of Gilneas, looking north from the bottom of the landmass: http://i.imgur.com/mTtpw.jpg

Edit: my only issue is that there seems to be random invisible walls around some ADT's. for instance: http://i.imgur.com/p7jts.jpg STV, the walls seem to exist from top to bottom,  and cannot be passed through very easily. Also, collision data seems wonky - if you port in, it'll place the terrain over you, no matter what the Z level you use. You have to have a server that supports flying in order to not hit the kill-floor. Kinda a pain in the ass, but whatever, it works.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2012, 12:24:58 am by Admin »

Mjollna

  • Contributors
  • Model Change Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
Re: [TOOL] [Adt edit] ADT Converter
« Reply #34 on: June 21, 2012, 12:22:30 am »
Thanks for your answer and the screenshot :)

Actually, the hardest part about water was to spot where it was in the alpha wdt (in the end : at the same place as usual, but no chunk name) -_-

---

I'm also using this post to share here with everyone what I've already pm'd you...

So to have a "ready-to-go" half-broken-without-objects (but fun) alpha converter, replace main.cpp content with this and compile : http://pastie.org/4123054

Then it should work by dropping an alpha wdt on the binary.
Be patient, it's deadly slow, so Kalimdor conversion takes around a 1/2 hour.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

akspa420

  • Registred Member
  • Polygonshifter
  • *****
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: [TOOL] [Adt edit] ADT Converter
« Reply #35 on: June 21, 2012, 02:49:51 am »
I find it surprising that the maps line up almost perfectly - The doodads are handled by the 3.3.5 server, so things like signs and npc's show up properly. Neat.

I've uploaded 30-something screenshots, listed here - http://pastie.org/4123676
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Mjollna

  • Contributors
  • Model Change Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
Re: [TOOL] [Adt edit] ADT Converter
« Reply #36 on: June 21, 2012, 08:04:28 am »
Oh I posted 2mn before your edit yesterday night :)

About the walls : it's no a bug, it's a feature... yes, Blizzard added invisible walls in the alpha already...
You can remove them with removethewalls as usual...
Here : viewtopic.php?f=59&t=809
Or there for the LK updated version : viewtopic.php?f=59&t=847

For the height problem...  I have no idea, never looked at server stuff.
The only thing about height that changes between alpha and later formats, as far as I know, is that there isn't relative height in mcnk header in alpha, vertices have absolute values in chunks. That means mcnk.header.0x70 is always 0 in the converted adts as well (I didn't feel like calculating that, so I chose the easy way)... But I don't see why that would affect teleportation when you specify an absolute Z... ?

Thanks for all the screenshots links ! I'll have a look at them tonight.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

KevinBM

  • Registred Member
  • Race Changer
  • *****
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: [TOOL] [Adt edit] ADT Converter
« Reply #37 on: June 22, 2012, 09:51:42 pm »
Do I need to have to download alpha patch before converting, or are there already some in there?

Edit: Sry, silly question, my fault ....
Edit²: Ok, I am really embarassed now, but I really can't run this, so do I need to download alpha models first?
I'm REALLY sorry for asking you such a noobish trash, but unfortunately my " Computer Skills " are very useless.
Thanks for your help!
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

akspa420

  • Registred Member
  • Polygonshifter
  • *****
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: [TOOL] [Adt edit] ADT Converter
« Reply #38 on: June 22, 2012, 11:17:51 pm »
maybe I should make available the converted terrain data. It's only about ~1.2GB total, compressed in MPQ form. I've got Azeroth, Kalimdor, and Kalidar converted and packaged into two separate patches. I'll see about hosting them and I'll post the link when they're ready to go.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

fean

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: [TOOL] [Adt edit] ADT Converter
« Reply #39 on: June 23, 2012, 01:42:02 am »
Quote from: "KevinBM"
Do I need to have to download alpha patch before converting, or are there already some in there?

Edit: Sry, silly question, my fault ....
Edit²: Ok, I am really embarassed now, but I really can't run this, so do I need to download alpha models first?
I'm REALLY sorry for asking you such a noobish trash, but unfortunately my " Computer Skills " are very useless.
Thanks for your help!
"Computer skills" have nothing to do with common sense...

1. What soft are you trying to run ? ADT Converter or Gilijim Project ?
If ADT Converter, then make sure you have Java installed, and check your config file.
If Gilijim Project, you need to compile it.

2. What alpha models ? Vanilla Alpha Models ? They are not needed, as the adt converted from Vanilla Alpha -> 3.3.5a don't contain any objects right now, because it's not implemented yet, as Mjollna said.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

KevinBM

  • Registred Member
  • Race Changer
  • *****
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: [TOOL] [Adt edit] ADT Converter
« Reply #40 on: June 23, 2012, 12:22:30 pm »
I'm trying to run adt converter.
My question is: Does the converter create the models, or do I need to have them already on my computer, so that
this converter make them compatible to noggit ?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Mjollna

  • Contributors
  • Model Change Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
Re: [TOOL] [Adt edit] ADT Converter
« Reply #41 on: June 23, 2012, 07:02:23 pm »
The adt converter converts adt, so models are untouched.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

KevinBM

  • Registred Member
  • Race Changer
  • *****
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: [TOOL] [Adt edit] ADT Converter
« Reply #42 on: June 23, 2012, 11:48:31 pm »
Oh sry I meant adt :P
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

fean

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: [TOOL] [Adt edit] ADT Converter
« Reply #43 on: June 24, 2012, 12:03:38 am »
Wait, are you asking if you need some adts to convert them ? -_-

Oh, and before you ask : this soft converts any 0.7+ / 1.x / 2.x / 3.x adt to 4.x and not 4.x to 3.x, so they will not be compatible with noggit.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Mjollna

  • Contributors
  • Model Change Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
Re: [TOOL] [Adt edit] ADT Converter
« Reply #44 on: August 01, 2012, 04:22:55 am »
Up ! Threads are mixed up for ADT Converter and the alpha adt > current adt part of Gillijim Project, so I guess the easiest is to update here.

Added objects placement to alpha adt > current adt conversion :)

So now you can get a "ready-to-go" half-broken with objects (but fun) alpha converter.
It's the *current* objects that appear on the map though, so some things may have changed since alpha... not that many though O_o
So for now, no old IF or UC, since there's no models conversion at all.  

Use this as main.cpp when you compile the latest version (commit 9cffe24b1597) : http://pastie.org/4368790
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »