This is a read only copy without any forum functionality of the old Modcraft forum.
If there is anything that you would like to have removed, message me on Discord via Kaev#5208.
Big thanks to Alastor for making this copy!

Menu

Author Topic: [QUESTION] Adding hair,beard,skins to custom race  (Read 3009 times)

Ohai

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
[QUESTION] Adding hair,beard,skins to custom race
« on: July 28, 2014, 12:09:16 am »
I modified a wow creature in mdlvis and I want to put it in my wow(4.3.4) eventualy as a custom race, its my first character i did in mdlvis, and I was wondering do I have to make it bold without hair, beard horns and make that seperately or is there some other order how to do it? And for skins I'm guessing its just texture editing right?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Alastor

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 1105
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Adding hair,beard,skins to custom race
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2014, 01:04:16 am »
not sure if is it even possible .... ask Vel :P
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
No matter how fast light travels it finds the darkness has always got there first and is waiting for it
Star Citizen Referral Code : STAR-XNFS-HVL9

Ohai

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Adding hair,beard,skins to custom race
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2014, 06:00:58 am »
Who is Vel lol, so would it be better I make 2 3 similar models? If I'm adding a new race does that work like I have to swap some existing models of races with mine? Cos I've only seen custom races like that u see broken then u swap thru 2-3 exsisting broken models. So would I have to place my 3 models instead of those 'broken' models or whatever other race there is?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

phantomx

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Adding hair,beard,skins to custom race
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2014, 04:33:40 am »
Quote from: "Ohai"
Who is Vel lol, so would it be better I make 2 3 similar models? If I'm adding a new race does that work like I have to swap some existing models of races with mine? Cos I've only seen custom races like that u see broken then u swap thru 2-3 exsisting broken models. So would I have to place my 3 models instead of those 'broken' models or whatever other race there is?

Well if you want to have them be character models then yes you would have to activate them in the core/SharedDefines.h


Only enable the race you will be replacing or you could enable them all it's up to you just make sure where it says #defines max_races # increase the number by one so lets say WotLK you enabled 1 race to the normal 10 races it would be 12 then you would have to edit the code below.

Here I will just paste one for you with broken enabled.

Code: [Select]
// Race value is index in ChrRaces.dbc
enum Races
{
RACE_NONE = 0,
RACE_HUMAN = 1,
RACE_ORC = 2,
RACE_DWARF = 3,
RACE_NIGHTELF = 4,
RACE_UNDEAD_PLAYER = 5,
RACE_TAUREN = 6,
RACE_GNOME = 7,
RACE_TROLL = 8,
//RACE_GOBLIN = 9,
RACE_BLOODELF = 10,
RACE_DRAENEI = 11,
//RACE_FEL_ORC = 12,
//RACE_NAGA               = 13,
RACE_BROKEN             = 14,
//RACE_SKELETON           = 15,
//RACE_VRYKUL             = 16,
//RACE_TUSKARR            = 17,
//RACE_FOREST_TROLL       = 18,
//RACE_TAUNKA             = 19,
//RACE_NORTHREND_SKELETON = 20,
//RACE_ICE_TROLL          = 21
};

// max+1 for player race
#define MAX_RACES         12

#define RACEMASK_ALL_PLAYABLE
    ((1<<(RACE_HUMAN-1))   |(1<<(RACE_ORC-1))          |(1<<(RACE_DWARF-1))   |
     (1<<(RACE_NIGHTELF-1))|(1<<(RACE_UNDEAD_PLAYER-1))|(1<<(RACE_TAUREN-1))  |
     (1<<(RACE_GNOME-1))   |(1<<(RACE_TROLL-1))        |(1<<(RACE_BLOODELF-1))|
     (1<<(RACE_DRAENEI-1)) |(1<<(RACE_BROKEN)))

There's some more editing required to make them playable.

You need to edit the following
    ChrRaces.dbc

    CharBaseInfo.dbc

    CharStartOutfit.dbc

    SkillLineAbility.dbc

    SkillRaceClassInfo.dbc

    Faction.dbc

Then you need to have them show in the interface by editing the GlueStrings.lua, GlueParent.lua, CharacterCreate.lua and CharacterCreate.xml once all that's done they will be visible in-game.

They won't be playable until you add them to the database... I should probably just make a tutorial but I'm not sure if there's one on here.

For the mean time you could just replace an active playable race just change your file names to correspond to the names of the race you're replacing you could also just change the names in CharSections.dbc to correspond to your file names instead, it's up to you.

I hope this helped in some way.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
[wimg]http://i.imgur.com/6fxUQL1.gif[/wimg]

Ohai

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Adding hair,beard,skins to custom race
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2014, 07:20:13 am »
Hey thanks Phantom but i was wondering more specific if I was to change a race completely animations different model everything,So i have my custom 3d model and lets say i swap his animations with bloodelf, where are the hair beard files to change and how would it attach exactly to fit if there were new models with different dimensions in their place?

EDIT: is that even possible, like change the name info background everything of a race? And what parts of that are hardcoded, and what does hardcoded mean anyway it cant be changed? I'm guessing it would just be encrpyted?  :ugeek:

And yeah a detailed tutorial would be awsome for cata please
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

phantomx

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Adding hair,beard,skins to custom race
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2014, 07:59:25 pm »
Quote from: "Ohai"
Hey thanks Phantom but i was wondering more specific if I was to change a race completely animations different model everything,So i have my custom 3d model and lets say i swap his animations with bloodelf, where are the hair beard files to change and how would it attach exactly to fit if there were new models with different dimensions in their place?

Okay so first let me explain some things you can't add new races to the game that aren't defined already in the game, what you can do is replace their models, so you have I believe 22 defined races in cata, if you want to replace one without having to do any core-side editing I.E. activating Broken,  just get your m2, skin/s and texture files and place them into a folder like this

I.E.
[paragraph:frbquy4f]CharacterBloodElfMalePLACE FILES HERE, rename your model's M2, Skin/s and your Animation files to be like this: BloodElfMale.M2, BloodElfMale00.Skin and if you have more then 1 skin file just change the second number like this BloodElfMale01.Skin and your Animation files like this BloodElfMale0060-00.anim etc make sure that you get as many animation file names as possible otherwise you might crash when you try to do an animation, that's if you're using custom animations and not the ones of the race your replacing uses,
that's pretty much it just log in and take a look at your new model.[/paragraph:frbquy4f]

P.S.

The beards, hairstyles, faces and skin colors of the model you're replacing won't apply to your custom model.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
[wimg]http://i.imgur.com/6fxUQL1.gif[/wimg]

Ohai

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Adding hair,beard,skins to custom race
« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2014, 08:58:49 pm »
Quote from: "phantomx"
Quote from: "Ohai"
Hey thanks Phantom but i was wondering more specific if I was to change a race completely animations different model everything,So i have my custom 3d model and lets say i swap his animations with bloodelf, where are the hair beard files to change and how would it attach exactly to fit if there were new models with different dimensions in their place?

Okay so first let me explain some things you can't add new races to the game that aren't defined already in the game, what you can do is replace their models, so you have I believe 22 defined races in cata, if you want to replace one without having to do any core-side editing I.E. activating Broken,  just get your m2, skin/s and texture files and place them into a folder like this

I.E.
[paragraph:2vqdlrjq]CharacterBloodElfMalePLACE FILES HERE, rename your model's M2, Skin/s and your Animation files to be like this: BloodElfMale.M2, BloodElfMale00.Skin and if you have more then 1 skin file just change the second number like this BloodElfMale01.Skin and your Animation files like this BloodElfMale0060-00.anim etc make sure that you get as many animation file names as possible otherwise you might crash when you try to do an animation, that's if you're using custom animations and not the ones of the race your replacing uses,
that's pretty much it just log in and take a look at your new model.[/paragraph:2vqdlrjq]

P.S.

The beards, hairstyles, faces and skin colors of the model you're replacing won't apply to your custom model.


Well thats what I meant you say you cant add new races and hair other stuff wont apply, why is that. If i have to change something in the core I would try, becuase if I'm replacing lets say bloodelf with a tottaly different race I would have to change them completely name everything.

And thanks for this tip so that would be skins, like when they change skin colour in char customization menu it rotates a few textures right, or different models?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

phantomx

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Adding hair,beard,skins to custom race
« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2014, 10:07:24 pm »
Quote
Well thats what I meant you say you cant add new races and hair other stuff wont apply, why is that. If i have to change something in the core I would try, becuase if I'm replacing lets say bloodelf with a tottaly different race I would have to change them completely name everything.

And thanks for this tip so that would be skins, like when they change skin colour in char customization menu it rotates a few textures right, or different models?


The skin colors are just textures the faces, hairstyles and beards are part of the m2/skins.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
[wimg]http://i.imgur.com/6fxUQL1.gif[/wimg]

Ohai

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Adding hair,beard,skins to custom race
« Reply #8 on: August 04, 2014, 10:48:44 pm »
Quote from: "phantomx"

The skin colors are just textures the faces, hairstyles and beards are part of the m2/skins.

Are you sure about faces I was looking thru modelviewer and all the character faces have the same 3d model for a race/gender its just the texture that changes the face expression

And about the hairstyles so you say its in m2/skins? So hypothetically I change the belf hairstyles there why wouldnt they show up in game?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

phucko1

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Adding hair,beard,skins to custom race
« Reply #9 on: August 04, 2014, 11:52:20 pm »
Dude, don't even hope for making a custom race with MDLVIS. It is to much work.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Ohai

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Adding hair,beard,skins to custom race
« Reply #10 on: August 05, 2014, 12:09:09 am »
Quote from: "phucko1"
Dude, don't even hope for making a custom race with MDLVIS. It is to much work.

Why are all the animations hard to make, or adding geosets?

I practicaly made my model in mdlvis already and was thinking doing this tutorial that u made adding bones viewtopic.php?f=20&t=5536 and then animate them
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

phucko1

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Adding hair,beard,skins to custom race
« Reply #11 on: August 05, 2014, 12:28:55 am »
Have you looked up how many geosets, bones and animations you need for a character model? It is loads, and MDXTOM2 only supports 60 bones.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Ohai

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Adding hair,beard,skins to custom race
« Reply #12 on: August 05, 2014, 12:53:18 am »
Quote from: "phucko1"
Have you looked up how many geosets, bones and animations you need for a character model? It is loads, and MDXTOM2 only supports 60 bones.

Well it needs 15 bones just to work in game, right? Then I guess i just add 10 more bones for fingers maybe 5 more for something else and just make simple animations like that :b
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

phantomx

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Adding hair,beard,skins to custom race
« Reply #13 on: August 05, 2014, 12:56:41 am »
Quote from: "Ohai"
Quote from: "phucko1"
Have you looked up how many geosets, bones and animations you need for a character model? It is loads, and MDXTOM2 only supports 60 bones.

Well it needs 15 bones just to work in game, right? Then I guess i just add 10 more bones for fingers maybe 5 more for something else and just make simple animations like that :b

A simple way to do it is just to use the BloodElf animations/bones and attach them to your model.

Get the BloodElf remove all the faces then import your model and attach all your bones to it and done.

It's the same way cars are added to the game.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
[wimg]http://i.imgur.com/6fxUQL1.gif[/wimg]

Ohai

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Adding hair,beard,skins to custom race
« Reply #14 on: August 05, 2014, 01:02:10 am »
Quote from: "phantomx"
Quote from: "Ohai"
Quote from: "phucko1"
Have you looked up how many geosets, bones and animations you need for a character model? It is loads, and MDXTOM2 only supports 60 bones.

Well it needs 15 bones just to work in game, right? Then I guess i just add 10 more bones for fingers maybe 5 more for something else and just make simple animations like that :b

A simple way to do it is just to use the BloodElf animations/bones and attach them to your model.

Get the BloodElf remove all the faces then import your model and attach all your bones to it and done.

It's the same way cars are added to the game.

Yea sweet +1 was thinking about doing that, maybe changing some animations like stand, dance etc but some boring like swim bow rifle etc cba doing that lol
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »