This is a read only copy without any forum functionality of the old Modcraft forum.
If there is anything that you would like to have removed, message me on Discord via Kaev#5208.
Big thanks to Alastor for making this copy!

Menu

Author Topic: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race  (Read 70201 times)

thesixth

  • Registred Member
  • Race Changer
  • *****
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #30 on: November 25, 2011, 12:21:36 pm »
    Hi!
[/b]
I've tried this tutorial.

Now, I'm not doing this with Mangos, but with Trinity. It is to my understanding that Trinity is based of the Mangos source so adapting the instructions wasn't hard. (Just one modification in the code to the source.)
[spoiler:26z9p9a8]enum Races
{
    RACE_HUMAN          = 1,
    RACE_ORC            = 2,
    RACE_DWARF          = 3,
    RACE_NIGHTELF       = 4,
    RACE_UNDEAD_PLAYER  = 5,
    RACE_TAUREN         = 6,
    RACE_GNOME          = 7,
    RACE_TROLL          = 8,
    RACE_GOBLIN         = 9,
    RACE_BLOODELF       = 10,
    RACE_DRAENEI        = 11,
    RACE_FEL_ORC        = 12,
    //RACE_NAGA           = 13,
    //RACE_BROKEN         = 14,
    //RACE_SKELETON       = 15,
    //RACE_VRYKUL         = 16,
    //RACE_TUSKARR        = 17,
    //RACE_FOREST_TROLL   = 18,
    //RACE_TAUNKA         = 19,
    //RACE_NORTHREND_SKELETON = 20,
    //RACE_ICE_TROLL      = 21
};


 -- VS.

enum Races
{
    RACE_NONE          = 0,
    RACE_HUMAN          = 1,
    RACE_ORC            = 2,
    RACE_DWARF          = 3,
    RACE_NIGHTELF       = 4,
    RACE_UNDEAD_PLAYER  = 5,
    RACE_TAUREN         = 6,
    RACE_GNOME          = 7,
    RACE_TROLL          = 8,
    RACE_GOBLIN         = 9,
    RACE_BLOODELF       = 10,
    RACE_DRAENEI        = 11,
    RACE_FEL_ORC        = 12,
    //RACE_NAGA           = 13,
    //RACE_BROKEN         = 14,
    //RACE_SKELETON       = 15,
    //RACE_VRYKUL         = 16,
    //RACE_TUSKARR        = 17,
    //RACE_FOREST_TROLL   = 18,
    //RACE_TAUNKA         = 19,
    //RACE_NORTHREND_SKELETON = 20,
    //RACE_ICE_TROLL      = 21
};

First row, added "RACE_NONE = 0" and I could compile the core.[/spoiler:26z9p9a8]
At first, I thought I had it all down, pretty much.
Anyways, I started to create a couple of new races, based of the original ones (like adding a new human etc.).
When it came down to testing it out, it didn't work.
I broke it all down a couple of times to really make sure no misstakes were made, whatsoever.
I didn't get it to work so I threw all the work away and decided to do exactly what the tutorial says, and not jump to my own conclusions or attempt anything else. Educational, you know.

Doing this, following the guide step by step, carefully, on an untoutched DB, compiling the unmodifyed serversource-code, I get the exact same error:

InterfaceGlueXMLGlueParent.lua:391:Usage: PlayGlueAmbience("soundname","(optional)fade in time")
This is after logging on, at the character selection screen, black with no background.

And this:
InterfaceGlueXMLCharacterCreate.lua:182 attempt to index local 'coords' (a nil value)
This leaves me with roughly half of the race icons badly messed up.

Going back to the character selection screen gives me following error:
InterfaceGlueXMLCharacterSelect.lua:49: Usage: PlayGlueAmbience("soundname","(optional)fade in time")

Editing the GlueParent.lua didn't make much difference... though something tells me that's where the bad stuff is going on...

I even made some backwards engineering, removing several original races (and classes) to gain some understanding.

Anyway, as the tutorial was made for 3.3.2a, this is being attempted on Wow 3.3.5a Im thinking, perhaps there are more features to change in this version of the GlueXML's?

Has anyone "ported" this tutorial to 3.3.5a with success?
Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance //S






****
EDIT:
Seems to be a little tougher to edit the 3.3.5a LUA-XML than 3.2.2a.
Editing the character creation screen by adding races actually works in 3.2.2a.
Now, my build is failing to compile for some reason -.- dunno why, since exactly what I'm doing right now worked just like a charm with trinity 3.3.5....
========== Build: 10 succeeded, 3 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========

Anyways, since I'm not particulary interrested in making any of the currently existing non-playable races into a playable one, but rather make a few completely new races, I'm wondering : The core and database speaks of races ID's from 1 to 21... so... is it possible to add races beyond 21, i.e raceID 22 - alieninvader... or whatever? Or do I have to completely overhaul (let's say) the Nagas or something - discluding that race from the game to be able to "add" a new one?
It'd be nice to talk to someone with experience around this.

Ciao!
****
EDIT:
Problems with compiling the core was 3x severe sloppyness. Looking it over the next day pretty much made me see my error. Guess I just had to sleep on it. ^^
« Last Edit: November 28, 2011, 07:10:53 pm by Admin »
0===];;;;;;;;::::> [size=50] I am a swedish. Please execute me, my english is no very, very good.[/size]

nnhmeisink

  • Registred Member
  • MS Paint Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #31 on: November 28, 2011, 12:29:59 am »
I'm trying this tutorial to wow 3.3.5a and before starting on this tutorial my own little private server worked fine...now i added my GlueXML files etc. and now when i want to check if the races are showing wow crashes and tells me that BattlemasterList.dbc has wrong number of columns (found 35, expected 32)....
Why oh Why??? I did nothing to the battlemasterlist database file and I really do not understand why this is happening....can any1 help me out???

*edit*
Ignore this part....i didn't made a good patch file so now it works fine :) But now the problem is i don't see the extra char. panels i the character creation panel. I do see 2 extra spaces for the new characters but i can not select them....

Thanks in advance
Niek
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

samgartell

  • Registred Member
  • Loreweaver
  • *****
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #32 on: November 28, 2011, 05:08:40 pm »
Quote from: "nnhmeisink"
I'm trying this tutorial to wow 3.3.5a and before starting on this tutorial my own little private server worked fine...now i added my GlueXML files etc. and now when i want to check if the races are showing wow crashes and tells me that BattlemasterList.dbc has wrong number of columns (found 35, expected 32)....
Why oh Why??? I did nothing to the battlemasterlist database file and I really do not understand why this is happening....can any1 help me out???

Thanks
Niek

http://www.mediafire.com/?h07ugzqyziwnbyi Try using this BattlemasterList.dbc, it's the latest rev straight from Patch-enUS-3.MPQ, so it should have the correct column count.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

thesixth

  • Registred Member
  • Race Changer
  • *****
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #33 on: November 28, 2011, 06:32:34 pm »
Hi nnhmeisink!
Perhaps you already know everything I write here, perhaps not.

If you haven't modifyed it, check if you've added dbc-files to your "patch-x.MPQ", then perhaps you've accidently added the wrong version into your "patch-x.MPQ"-file. The most recent version of the file should be located in your "patch-enUS-3.MPQ", if , of course, you have the enUS version.

If the file is located in some of your more recent official "patch-en/es/de....or..whatever... .MPQ", all my experience can tell you is that something probably prevents Wow from loading the 'current'... or rather, the expected version of the BattlemasterList.dbc file.

Perhaps you are editing existing, official MPQ's instead of creating your own patches and somehow corrupted the files?

if not, have you done this?
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=181
As an easier alternative Laniax uploaded an automatic patcher for the 3.3.5a client wow.exe. I've confirmed it to work perfectly with the enUS version.

This sort of message only occurs when I'm in the middle of editing/gathering resources, and I try to load Wow.exe, but forgot to close all MPQ-files that I have opened with my MPQ-editor.

If you've read my previous post, I've tried this with the 3.3.5a client withour success, and I haven't talked to anyone who has succeeded to do this. My failure lies in that I sort of drowned in the XML-LUA swamp... Seems to be a bit trickier with the 3.3.5a version than in the 3.2.2a...

Anyway, I'm uploading for you, the 'expected' version of BattlemasterList.dbc for the enUS 3.3.5a client. I have also uploaded the automatic unsig ptacher for the 3.3.5a client. Should be two attatchments. This is all I can do to help.

Please know that I am eager to hear how this turns out for you. If you'd manage to pull this off, it would be very interresting to hear about it.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
0===];;;;;;;;::::> [size=50] I am a swedish. Please execute me, my english is no very, very good.[/size]

thesixth

  • Registred Member
  • Race Changer
  • *****
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #34 on: November 28, 2011, 11:47:55 pm »
Yaaay! I've got it working!
Thanks for this amazing tutorial!

At the moment I have just been testing out by "cloning" the human race.
One of them is Alliance, the other one is Horde.
Some things are messed up, like skills, languages and factionstandings, plus there aren't any quests avaliable for theese races at the moment. The alliance human doesn't seem to come with any startoutfit and there are some minnor issues. Regardless, this is only the result of experimenting for educational purposes

I'm posting a few screenshots of the result.
PS! nevermind that wierd-looking character creation screen. It's nothing but random tampering.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
0===];;;;;;;;::::> [size=50] I am a swedish. Please execute me, my english is no very, very good.[/size]

nnhmeisink

  • Registred Member
  • MS Paint Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #35 on: November 30, 2011, 07:57:44 pm »
@ TheSixth

Thnx for the info...you were right, i made an error in my patch xD stupid me....but the problem now is that i have done everything correctly (i think) but the extra char. panels are not showing in the character creation screen...the panels are moved so there is extra space but i dont see anything there

And a 2nd question for these steps:

SET @NEW_RACE = 9; -- ID of adding race.
SET @NEW_CLASS = 1; -- ID of class of the new race.
SET @COPY_RACE = 1; -- ID of the race where we copy datas.

DELETE FROM `playercreateinfo_spell` WHERE race = @NEW_RACE AND class = @NEW_CLASS ;
INSERT INTO `playercreateinfo_spell` (`race`, `class`, `Spell`, `Note`)
SELECT @NEW_RACE, @NEW_CLASS, `Spell`, `Note` FROM `playercreateinfo_spell` WHERE race = @COPY_RACE AND class = @NEW_CLASS;

Wich file do i edit and how? I don't really get this part:S

Sorry for me being a noob xD

Thanks in advance
Niek
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

samgartell

  • Registred Member
  • Loreweaver
  • *****
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #36 on: November 30, 2011, 08:11:41 pm »
Quote from: "thesixth"
Yaaay! I've got it working!

Any info on the whole GlueParent.lua thing? Still no luck here. I'm new to xml and lua, so it's all a mystery to me really.
Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #37 on: December 02, 2011, 01:58:31 pm »
As this Lua stuff is the same as AddOns read the existing docs you find in the web.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #38 on: December 02, 2011, 01:59:26 pm »
@thesixth: You need to update the MySQL DB of the Server for many stuff. Like start equipment.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

jippejoosten

  • Registred Member
  • BLP Convertor
  • *****
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #39 on: January 12, 2012, 11:33:07 am »
may u can help me.

i can't find the CharBaseInfo.dbc.
and we i try to make one on Taliis,
than it says no need for make a abc file.

anyone know what to do ?

ps. i work on a mac
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

dillanbe20

  • Registred Member
  • MWCS Enthusiast
  • *****
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Add a new race
« Reply #40 on: January 25, 2012, 06:22:46 pm »
Pls Give Site That Work My WoW Give Error
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Dlink_lip

  • Registred Member
  • BLP Convertor
  • *****
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #41 on: February 13, 2012, 01:34:17 pm »
Hello! Sorry for my English. Tell me what DBC is responsible for the canines in Forest Troll. I moved from the standard model 18 ID to 14 ID. All shows, except for the canines.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Aeroneuron

  • Registred Member
  • MS Paint Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #42 on: February 18, 2012, 02:59:08 pm »
Hey there.

I just visited this topic. I only got two questions or maybe problems.

1 - we should have done something for the wow to allow the reading of those settings we changed in lua files for the game. that link was broken and I couldnt do that so now when I start wow it gives me the error of "some of your interface files are corrupted" or something like this. a link to that thing would be very helpful.

2 - in my mangos core (latest revision) the shareddefines.h file is exactly like you mentioned here but it has one difference. for example RACE_HUMAN = 1; and for goblin it is the same :D I mean there is no // before that line that relates to goblins. not only goblins of course. this // is excluded from all the races in the file no matter playable or not.

thanks..
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Dlink_lip

  • Registred Member
  • BLP Convertor
  • *****
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #43 on: February 23, 2012, 12:48:15 am »
Quote from: "Aeroneuron"
Hey there.

I just visited this topic. I only got two questions or maybe problems.

1 - we should have done something for the wow to allow the reading of those settings we changed in lua files for the game. that link was broken and I couldnt do that so now when I start wow it gives me the error of "some of your interface files are corrupted" or something like this. a link to that thing would be very helpful.

2 - in my mangos core (latest revision) the shareddefines.h file is exactly like you mentioned here but it has one difference. for example RACE_HUMAN = 1; and for goblin it is the same :D I mean there is no // before that line that relates to goblins. not only goblins of course. this // is excluded from all the races in the file no matter playable or not.

thanks..

1- viewtopic.php?f=26&t=181
2- they are open xD

ps. please reply to my post above
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Zim4ik

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 407
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #44 on: April 15, 2012, 09:58:48 am »
Hello guys,
Dont forget to change racebitmasks in quest_template table of your db. If you wont change your bitmasks,
your races will be useless
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »