This is a read only copy without any forum functionality of the old Modcraft forum.
If there is anything that you would like to have removed, message me on Discord via Kaev#5208.
Big thanks to Alastor for making this copy!

Menu

Author Topic: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race  (Read 70201 times)

Mr. DK

  • Moderators
  • Model Change Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 224
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #75 on: November 19, 2013, 01:23:20 am »
NEVER EVER EVER EVER use Taliis.

Use Mydbc editor!

TAliis is outdated as hell and kills nearly 60% of all your data on editing them!
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
I am Thor! Supreme commander of the Asgard Fleet!

Gurluas

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 344
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #76 on: May 25, 2014, 08:08:35 am »
Anyone got a fix for the black login screen yet?
Everything seems to check out. I don't know what's causing this.

Why is there no documentation whatsoever on this shit?!
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Simping

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • http://www.status3gaming.net/
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #77 on: May 25, 2014, 12:17:47 pm »
I had been struggling with that problem as well, but then I came across this guide on EmuDevs: emudevs(dot)com/showthread(dot)php/121-How-to-Custom-Races
It seems like the site is down at the moment, so I can explain what to do here.


Open up GlueParent.lua and search for:
Code: [Select]
GlueAmbienceTracks["DEATHKNIGHT"] = "GlueScreenIntro";Then under that you want to add this line if you added the Goblin race. Do the same thing for all the other races that you added.
Code: [Select]
GlueAmbienceTracks["GOBLIN"] = "GlueScreenIntro";

Then search for:
Code: [Select]
   DEATHKNIGHT = {
        {1,     0,  0.00000,        0.00000,        -1.00000,   1.0,    0.38824,    0.66353,    0.76941,    1.0,    0.00000,    0.00000,    0.00000},
    },
and add this below:
Code: [Select]
GOBLIN = {        
        {1,     0,  0.00000,        0.00000,        -1.00000,   1.0,    0.15000,    0.15000,    0.15000,    1.0,    0.00000,    0.00000,    0.00000},
        {1,     0,  -0.74919,       0.35208,        -0.56103,   1.0,    0.00000,    0.00000,    0.00000,    1.0,    0.44706,    0.54510,    0.73725},
        {1,     0,  0.53162,        -0.84340,       0.07780,    1.0,    0.00000,    0.00000,    0.00000,    2.0,    0.55,       0.338625,   0.148825},
    },
Do the same thing for any other races you added.


Then search for:
Code: [Select]
function SetBackgroundModel(model, name)This is where you set the backgrounds. Replace the whole function with this:
Code: [Select]
function SetBackgroundModel(model, name)
    local nameupper = strupper(name);

if (name == "Goblin" or name == "GOBLIN") then
name = "Orc";
end

    local path = "Interface\Glues\Models\UI_"..name.."\UI_"..name..".m2";
if ( model == CharacterCreate ) then
SetCharCustomizeBackground(path);
else
SetCharSelectBackground(path);
end
PlayGlueAmbience(GlueAmbienceTracks[nameupper], 4.0);
SetLighting(model, nameupper)
end
That will set the Goblin's background to the Orc one.
And like I said previously, do the same thing for any other races that you added. ;)
After that your races should have a working background!

The credit goes to Mathex on EmuDevs!
« Last Edit: June 06, 2014, 12:08:25 am by Admin »

Gurluas

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 344
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #78 on: May 25, 2014, 12:27:16 pm »
I already did that, it's still black.
And for all races.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Nacho

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #79 on: November 16, 2014, 03:53:03 am »
I have a question about this guide: if not mistaken, considering what I read, this guide is to create and keep in the database a new race.
But I wonder how would succeed to the new playable race is really in the game? you make it through an aura? or adding to the character creation screen? And if one of these two options were correct, how you would?
Thanks for your time guys.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

phantomx

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #80 on: November 16, 2014, 11:05:41 am »
Quote from: "Nacho"
I have a question about this guide: if not mistaken, considering what I read, this guide is to create and keep in the database a new race.
But I wonder how would succeed to the new playable race is really in the game? you make it through an aura? or adding to the character creation screen? And if one of these two options were correct, how you would?
Thanks for your time guys.

You're either lying about reading the guide or didn't read everything.

This is a guide on how to active inactive races within the game.

These races must be defined for them to be activated.

This guide shows you how to activate the Goblin and Fel Orc races and make them playable and attach them to a faction and enable classes on them.

With that you should be able to use your head and activate the rest of the races and add factions and classes to them.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
[wimg]http://i.imgur.com/6fxUQL1.gif[/wimg]

Nacho

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #81 on: November 16, 2014, 12:03:51 pm »
Quote from: "phantomx"
Quote from: "Nacho"
I have a question about this guide: if not mistaken, considering what I read, this guide is to create and keep in the database a new race.
But I wonder how would succeed to the new playable race is really in the game? you make it through an aura? or adding to the character creation screen? And if one of these two options were correct, how you would?
Thanks for your time guys.

You're either lying about reading the guide or didn't read everything.

This is a guide on how to active inactive races within the game.

These races must be defined for them to be activated.

This guide shows you how to activate the Goblin and Fel Orc races and make them playable and attach them to a faction and enable classes on them.

With that you should be able to use your head and activate the rest of the races and add factions and classes to them.

Tell me why you take this so serious? Why you get rude and angry so easily?
I'm going to be clear: i'm a noob on this things, i came here to learn something about it.
Don't be rude with me by an internet forum, is not only discourteous, is coward also because you don't say those things personally.

Going back to the topic, i ask how models become playable in-game. How they appear? Need create an aura? need create an empty space for that in the character creation screen?
That's all. Cya.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

phantomx

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #82 on: November 16, 2014, 07:19:28 pm »
Quote from: "Nacho"
Tell me why you take this so serious? Why you get rude and angry so easily?
I'm going to be clear: i'm a noob on this things, i came here to learn something about it.
Don't be rude with me by an internet forum, is not only discourteous, is coward also because you don't say those things personally.

Going back to the topic, i ask how models become playable in-game. How they appear? Need create an aura? need create an empty space for that in the character creation screen?
That's all. Cya.

You're to arrogant to notice that I did tell you the answer you were looking for and some how I came off as serious and angry?

I assure I'm not angry or serious, this is a hobby not a job and I come here to help people and if for some reason that came off to you as serious or angry then that's on you.

If you actually took the time to read the entire guide you would see that he explains how the races become playable... None of this "Need create an aura" crap.... Just read the guide everything you need to know is covered....

Also just in case that you are this isn't for a repack user, you have to compile the server yourself to be able to to do this.

So again l say read/follow the guide and you will be able to activate all the playable races and well play them...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
[wimg]http://i.imgur.com/6fxUQL1.gif[/wimg]

Nacho

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #83 on: November 16, 2014, 08:14:46 pm »
Quote from: "phantomx"
Quote from: "Nacho"
Tell me why you take this so serious? Why you get rude and angry so easily?
I'm going to be clear: i'm a noob on this things, i came here to learn something about it.
Don't be rude with me by an internet forum, is not only discourteous, is coward also because you don't say those things personally.

Going back to the topic, i ask how models become playable in-game. How they appear? Need create an aura? need create an empty space for that in the character creation screen?
That's all. Cya.

You're to arrogant to notice that I did tell you the answer you were looking for and some how I came off as serious and angry?

I assure I'm not angry or serious, this is a hobby not a job and I come here to help people and if for some reason that came off to you as serious or angry then that's on you.

If you actually took the time to read the entire guide you would see that he explains how the races become playable... None of this "Need create an aura" crap.... Just read the guide everything you need to know is covered....

Also just in case that you are this isn't for a repack user, you have to compile the server yourself to be able to to do this.

So again l say read/follow the guide and you will be able to activate all the playable races and well play them...
and yet, do not answer if you need to add the race in the character creation screen, which is one of my main questions and a point that the guide does not mention.
You were rude from the start for no reason, creating your own prejudiced assumptions. I am someone with a simple question, and you acted almost as if I had insulted your mom.
Seriously dude, take it more calmly, you're not seeing the whole picture.

And if you still want to continue arguing with me, do it for PM. This forum is not for this sort of thing. I just looking for a simple answer to a technical question.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

phantomx

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #84 on: November 16, 2014, 10:48:37 pm »
I'm not arguing with you... the guide tells you how to add them in the character creation screen if you read it...

You edit the LUA, XML and dbc files for it to show on the creation screen which the guide does cover...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
[wimg]http://i.imgur.com/6fxUQL1.gif[/wimg]

Nacho

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #85 on: November 16, 2014, 11:47:50 pm »
Quote from: "phantomx"
I'm not arguing with you... the guide tells you how to add them in the character creation screen if you read it...

You edit the LUA, XML and dbc files for it to show on the creation screen which the guide does cover...

Thank you, that's was all i need to know. Sorry if i didn't see before.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

blizzblack

  • Registred Member
  • BLP Convertor
  • *****
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #86 on: July 26, 2015, 12:34:03 pm »
Good I have a question I want to add worgen and goblin cataclysm. Now I have the models in a custom patch for 3.3.5, and placed correctly in the DBC. Where not understand is GluXML editing?
For breeds that are already as fel orc, naga etc .. I have no problem but for the two new races as I do for identifying the models in the GlueXML. We should add any additional line when a new eye new breed not already default to wow 3.3.5

I tried the same as in the tutorial but I get a GlueDialog.lua error. If I remove the patch GlueStrings.lua not I get the error.

Here I leave my files Lua yxml edited .

I hope you can help me thank you very much in advance.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

soliant

  • Registred Member
  • BLP Convertor
  • *****
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #87 on: November 27, 2016, 01:08:01 pm »
Hello,

I create 2 new races (Naga and Forest troll) with this tutorial.

Problem when I launch my "mangos.exe" (WotLK 3.3.5a ver.12340), It say "wrong race XX in xxxxxxtable".

No crash and client launch every races except these I add just "races not available"

Someone can help me ? [sorry bad english I'm french].
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

MaxtorTheBadCoder

  • Registred Member
  • BLP Convertor
  • *****
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Add a new race
« Reply #88 on: September 19, 2017, 11:34:55 am »
Sorry? but I have an error/
Too many races! Update MAX_RACES
But I have Max_races 12

You have to change it to Max_races 13 to work  ;) ;)