This is a read only copy without any forum functionality of the old Modcraft forum.
If there is anything that you would like to have removed, message me on Discord via Kaev#5208.
Big thanks to Alastor for making this copy!

Menu

Author Topic: [TUTORIAL] Sending Patches To The Client Through The WoW App  (Read 30490 times)

Swampdog

  • Registred Member
  • Race Changer
  • *****
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Sending Patches To The Client Through The WoW
« Reply #15 on: December 31, 2013, 02:49:40 am »
Anyone have a Trinity patch for this that works since they redid logging?  In August of 2012 the TrinityCore community was told there would be something added to the wiki to help people understand the logging system changes but it must not have been important enough to actually get done.  :(

I am attempting to manually patch into my copy of the Stable TDB335.51 (2013/02/14) that I am using..  I have everything patched in.  But when I go to compile it, I get a bunch of fatal errors centered around the logging, mainly "error C2039: 'outString' : is not a member of 'Log'" and one "error C2039: 'outStaticDebug' : is not a member of 'Log'"

I looked in Log.h and Log.cpp to try to grasp what functions I might need to replace them with.  In the Log class I see that they added LOG_FILTER_TYPE in the parameters but again, no real documentation anywhere on what those might be.

While a patch using the new logging system would be awesome, I'm not opposed to figuring this out on my own if I need to.  After several hours searching the Trinity forums and trying to get a grasp on what I might need to do, I could really use a nudge in the right direction.  Or if this "phantom" documentation exists somewhere, a link would rock!

Thanks in advance if anyone is able to help! :)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Sending Patches To The Client Through The WoW
« Reply #16 on: December 31, 2013, 10:08:48 am »
Just remove those logging related lines. Logging isn't important.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Swampdog

  • Registred Member
  • Race Changer
  • *****
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Sending Patches To The Client Through The WoW
« Reply #17 on: December 31, 2013, 10:25:13 am »
Quote from: "schlumpf"
Just remove those logging related lines. Logging isn't important.

Thanks Schlumpf!  I had hoped to keep them for debugging purposes.  But knowing they aren't critical and that I can remove them helps.  I'll comment them out for now in case I can find out more about the logging system later..  Or maybe even just convert them to generic outInfo messages without worrying about all the different variables and such that were passed through in the messages before.  But then I guess I'd have to figure out the whole LOG_FILTER_TYPES and how to modify it in the worldserver.conf for logging..  lol

Thanks again for your response!  You rock! :)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Jpp

  • Registred Member
  • MWCS Enthusiast
  • *****
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Sending Patches To The Client Through The WoW
« Reply #18 on: March 09, 2014, 10:00:16 pm »
I followed the tutorial, but I ran into an issue related to logging on to the server.

Here is the error.
i(.)imgur(.)com/9XOiSCy(.)png

I seem to have tracked it down to these lines if this is any help.
pastebin(.)com/6p7EnF5t

In the core folder I have the folder called 'patches' with a MPQ file inside it called '12340-enUS', my client being 12340 as well.

I got my hands on a client patched to 12346, and tried to change allowed patches to 12347 instead of 12341, and change the name of the MPQ too, but it didn't work, so I doubt it's related to the client, but again, I could be wrong.

Thanks,
Jpp
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

stoneharry

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Sending Patches To The Client Through The WoW
« Reply #19 on: March 09, 2014, 10:25:26 pm »
Quote from: "Jpp"
I followed the tutorial, but I ran into an issue related to logging on to the server.

Here is the error.
i(.)imgur(.)com/9XOiSCy(.)png

I seem to have tracked it down to these lines if this is any help.
pastebin(.)com/6p7EnF5t

In the core folder I have the folder called 'patches' with a MPQ file inside it called '12340-enUS', my client being 12340 as well.

I got my hands on a client patched to 12346, and tried to change allowed patches to 12347 instead of 12341, and change the name of the MPQ too, but it didn't work, so I doubt it's related to the client, but again, I could be wrong.

Thanks,
Jpp

Pretty sure it needs to be 12340enUS.mpq. Can't remember off the top of my head. Trace the find patch function in the if statement you linked.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Jpp

  • Registred Member
  • MWCS Enthusiast
  • *****
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Sending Patches To The Client Through The WoW
« Reply #20 on: March 09, 2014, 10:33:56 pm »
Quote from: "stoneharry"
Pretty sure it needs to be 12340enUS.mpq. Can't remember off the top of my head. Trace the find patch function in the if statement you linked.

Already checked that.
pastebin(.)com/89VBWrLJ

Thanks though.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

tehrob

  • Registred Member
  • Race Changer
  • *****
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Sending Patches To The Client Through The WoW
« Reply #21 on: April 08, 2014, 01:53:10 pm »
I've got the same Problem.

Patch is definatly named correct and the authserver loads the Patch.
Clients says, unable to validate Game Version.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

stoneharry

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Sending Patches To The Client Through The WoW
« Reply #22 on: April 08, 2014, 04:21:37 pm »
Quote from: "tehrob"
I've got the same Problem.

Patch is definatly named correct and the authserver loads the Patch.
Clients says, unable to validate Game Version.

The TrinityCore code is based of the 2011 code base. http://pastebin.com/0BwqxVGf

TrinityCore have most likely updated it somehow now that requires different changes to be made. Put a debugger in and follow through the code to see what is happening. A condition could not be being matched and/or the entire patching process not being initialized. *shrug*
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

akriso

  • Contributors
  • Loreweaver
  • *****
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Sending Patches To The Client Through The WoW
« Reply #23 on: April 11, 2014, 02:05:43 am »
after downloading patch i have patch.mpq for example - how automaticly rename it to wow-update-base-15596.mpq and put to data  for example?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

stoneharry

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Sending Patches To The Client Through The WoW
« Reply #24 on: June 21, 2014, 08:05:59 pm »
This is my updated code on my local branch of TrinityCore that has patching working:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/110 ... nity.patch
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Leroy

  • Registred Member
  • MS Paint Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Sending Patches To The Client Through The WoW
« Reply #25 on: July 27, 2014, 11:29:44 am »
The newest patch for trinitycore is not working for me. I think that code of trinitycore has recently changed.
Some files of trinitycore can´t be patched. (Main.cpp , AuthSocket.cpp, AuthCodes.cpp)    :cry:  (I have the newest trinitycore).
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

stoneharry

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Sending Patches To The Client Through The WoW
« Reply #26 on: July 27, 2014, 01:20:53 pm »
Quote from: "Leroy"
The newest patch for trinitycore is not working for me. I think that code of trinitycore has recently changed.
Some files of trinitycore can´t be patched. (Main.cpp , AuthSocket.cpp, AuthCodes.cpp)    :cry:  (I have the newest trinitycore).

Have you tried manually merging it? I doubt they've changed it that much.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Leroy

  • Registred Member
  • MS Paint Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Sending Patches To The Client Through The WoW
« Reply #27 on: July 27, 2014, 03:52:32 pm »
Thank you , it works now ... but I have a  two questions.  The first one is Where should I setup a path to custom patch. (Core ? in define ?) and The second one is What syntax shoud have the name of patch file.

I am using Linux (debian) , compilation of core was succesfull.  I have folder "patches" in my "bin"(where i have authserver and worldserver) folder and there I have custom patch (Patch-x.mpq ..I have tried 12340-enUS.mpq too), but when I log in nothing happens. I have modified wow.exe too. In the auth console is only  "Entering _HandleLogonProof".
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

stoneharry

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Sending Patches To The Client Through The WoW
« Reply #28 on: July 27, 2014, 06:06:51 pm »
Update AuthCodes to deny 12340 as a build.

Path is:
Code: [Select]
+#ifndef _WIN32
+#define PATCH_PATH "../var/patches/"
+#else
+#define PATCH_PATH "./patches/"
+#endif

So if windows, just make a folder called patches. If not windows, ../var/patches. I am not sure what linux is for ../ but I assume it is the same as windows - back a directory, vars folder, patches folder.

Patch name should look something like this:

12340-enGB.mpq
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Leroy

  • Registred Member
  • MS Paint Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: [TUTORIAL] Sending Patches To The Client Through The WoW
« Reply #29 on: July 27, 2014, 06:38:13 pm »
Okay, so authserver has found new patches , I have commented line
{12340, 3, 3, 5, 'a'},
from
RealmBuildInfo const PostBcAcceptedClientBuilds[] ...

so it looks now

    static RealmBuildInfo const PostBcAcceptedClientBuilds[] =
    {
    //{12340, 3, 3, 5, 'a'},
        {0,     0, 0, 0, ' '}                                   // terminator
    };


When I log in,  downloading starts , but then it shows message box "Patch Required, press the restart button below to exit World of Warcraft and download the patch."  When I click on restart button it shows message box "Failed to apply patch..." , after restart game still not working.

Output in console:

Client with version 12340 and locale enUS (53556e65) looking for patch.
Client with version 12340 and locale enUS (53556e65) looking for patch.
Patch: ../var/patches/12340-enUS.mpq
PatcherRunnable::run(): 0 -> 65580
patcher done.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »