This is a read only copy without any forum functionality of the old Modcraft forum.
If there is anything that you would like to have removed, message me on Discord via Kaev#5208.
Big thanks to Alastor for making this copy!

Menu

Author Topic: [QUESTION][RELEASE] Interpreting Holes in MoP 5.3+ ADT Files  (Read 3952 times)

PhilipTNG

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
    • View Profile
[QUESTION][RELEASE] Interpreting Holes in MoP 5.3+ ADT Files
« on: October 06, 2013, 10:46:36 am »
Question is does anyone know how to interpret how Holes are set up in MoP ADT's that are from 5.3.0 and up?  Yes I know there is something on wowdev and ownedcore but I honestly have no idea what they are referring to.  

In patch 5.2.0 and back, all the holes were set at 0x3c of the MCNK chunk of an ADT, however it seems that in 5.3.0 and up, it no longer uses this field as noted on wowdev, blizzard now uses a 64bit mask for it now.  However it also says that there is a way to get the 16bit value through some conversions, and that's where I'm stuck at.

I mean naturally I can (as well as anyone) manually find which MCNK contains the hole by manually poking about and setting the 0x3c to FFFF until I poke a the correct chunk and end up having a section disappear but that's not exactly the best thing to do in real world practice when there are a few hundred holes that need to be tracked out.

I have supplied working copies of 5.4.0's Timeless Isle and Isle of Giants that you can try to make use of and see if you can somehow get them working.  These are in 3.3.5a Format however from my poking about, there isn't really any real difference between 5.3.0 and 5.2.0 ADT's  except for the MCNK 0x3c location being blank.

Download(125MB): http://anthonys-toolbox.org/downloads/P ... nippet.rar

~It is current using the MapID 723, folder named Stormwind, rename it to another location or a custom location if you are currently using that ID for something else, adjust the .go xyz's accordingly as well naturally.

~~This contains all the data needed for the two islands to render out completely, with textures, WMO's, and doodads.  Here's a sample of me when I'm actually focused on things where normally I just push large content patches on people simply because it takes an extra 15~20 minutes to figure out exactly what is needed, the size could have been a tad bit smaller if I removed the stuff that existed in 3.3.5a, but then again this isn't a commissioned task.

TrinityCore .go xyz commands:

.go xyz 6005 1520 35 723


.go xyz -425 -5120 8 723


.go xyz -547 -5425 6 723


ADT's Used:



If you want the hole data for Isle of Giants, you can grab them off the 5.2.0 version of the ADT, I have the 5.4.0 versions for reasons so that if anyone would like to compare the data, they'd be able to see there really isn't any difference between them except a new flag and that part empty.

If anyone can figure out how the hole data is interpreted, that'd be awesome!!

Warm Regards, ~ATBox
...well I say Warm, but it's actually kinda chilly at the moment, lol.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION][RELEASE] Interpreting Holes in MoP 5.3+ ADT F
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2013, 02:15:31 pm »
If they now use a 64bit mask and previously had a 16bit mask, then the holes are now with a detail of √64 -> 8x8 instead of √16 -> 4x4. Downsampling that mask would mean that you're taking 2x2 blocks and see if any of them are set, thus setting the respective 4x4 value:

Code: [Select]
00000000
00000000
00111100
00111100
00000000
00000000
is equivalent to
Code: [Select]
0000
0110
0110
0000

You will get bad results though, as you are obviously losing information:
Code: [Select]
00000000
00000100
00111100
00111100
00000000
00000000
has to be downsampled to
Code: [Select]
0010
0110
0110
0000
and will thus have more hole space than in the MoP version.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Dracbane

  • Registred Member
  • Loreweaver
  • *****
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION][RELEASE] Interpreting Holes in MoP 5.3+ ADT F
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2013, 10:17:10 am »
I have just downloaded this and tested the maps out in game. Isle of Giants works fine, but I cannot get Timeless Isle to load. Tried it a couple of different ways but have not had any luck. Going to play with the Isle of Giants cave tho and see what happens in the mean time.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

sakuranobushi

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION][RELEASE] Interpreting Holes in MoP 5.3+ ADT F
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2013, 04:20:13 pm »
I've been trying to do something with them, but it seems it is just not possible to do it without some problems.

In the first one part of the hole is not covered by the model resulting in a partially disappearing mountain. In the second one there is just one hole the smallest as it can be made. Part of the terrain can be seen inside the cave, but if I make the hole bigger we have disappearing terrain again.

so... i guess it's impossible, but could the new holes system be implemented somehow (i assume it's by far out of my knowledge).
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION][RELEASE] Interpreting Holes in MoP 5.3+ ADT F
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2013, 06:41:02 pm »
That's not possible.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

PhilipTNG

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION][RELEASE] Interpreting Holes in MoP 5.3+ ADT F
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2013, 10:31:18 pm »
Quote from: "sakuranobushi"
I've been trying to do something with them, but it seems it is just not possible to do it without some problems.

In the first one part of the hole is not covered by the model resulting in a partially disappearing mountain. In the second one there is just one hole the smallest as it can be made. Part of the terrain can be seen inside the cave, but if I make the hole bigger we have disappearing terrain again.

so... i guess it's impossible, but could the new holes system be implemented somehow (i assume it's by far out of my knowledge).

Yeah I ran into the same thing on other maps so I just spawned filler gameobjects to like rocks or boulders to cover it.  LOL... not the best way of doing it but kinda is the only way to make it visually pleasing.  Thanks for showing your images, I was too embarrassed to show mines because it naturally looked wrong. ^_^

@Schlumpf: Thankyou sir for your explaination, it helped me out a lot to understand why I was getting really big holes.


Quote from: "Dracbane"
but I cannot get Timeless Isle to load. Tried it a couple of different ways but have not had any luck.
What happens when you try to use the .go xyz command?  does it just hang at the loading screen or something?  perhaps you may need to redownload it if you get a wow error of some sort.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

sakuranobushi

  • Registred Member
  • GM Isle Explorer
  • *****
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION][RELEASE] Interpreting Holes in MoP 5.3+ ADT F
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2013, 09:02:15 pm »
In the end I just spawned some gobjects to cover the holes and closed two of the caves that way (yes, I was too lazy to do those holes TT).

I know it is not the best way to do this but... it does the job.

(a little offtopic, I managed to convert some lights and groundeffects, so now it looks a bit better ^^
I have attached an image of the final result.)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »