This is a read only copy without any forum functionality of the old Modcraft forum.
If there is anything that you would like to have removed, message me on Discord via Kaev#5208.
Big thanks to Alastor for making this copy!

Menu

Author Topic: [LUA] [QUESTION] Character Backgrounds  (Read 4478 times)

Shadowjesper1

  • Registred Member
  • LUA Script Tinker
  • *****
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
[LUA] [QUESTION] Character Backgrounds
« on: July 23, 2013, 12:37:02 pm »
Client Version: 4.0.6a

Question: I would like to know where the strings for the Character Backgounds  (those at CharacterCreate/CharacterSelect). But I cannot find the strings or lines for that matter. I am seeking to change out the Character Backgrounds with a blp instead.

Would anyone which file I would need to edit in order to change out the character backgrounds with a blp?

Thanks before hand.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: [LUA] [QUESTION] Character Backgrounds
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2013, 01:08:53 pm »
You would need to edit CharacterCreate and CharacterSelect, obviously. As you said yourself. Most likely you should change the model frame to a normal frame.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

stoneharry

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
    • View Profile
Re: [LUA] [QUESTION] Character Backgrounds
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2013, 02:02:08 pm »
Code: [Select]
CharacterSelect:SetModel("Interface\Glues\Models\UI_MainMenu\UI_MainMenu.m2");

This can be used to change the model. Just change when the new character selection function(s) are called.

To use a BLP you will need to change the CharacterSelect frame. To not break functionality, I would just clear the CharacterSelect model and have another frame that holds the BLP and overlays it.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Shadowjesper1

  • Registred Member
  • LUA Script Tinker
  • *****
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: [LUA] [QUESTION] Character Backgrounds
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2013, 12:02:19 am »
Sorry, if I am not understanding your points but:

@stoneharry: I cannot find that line in the .lua of 4.0.6a

Isn't there a specific line in the luas that has the treepath of what file it loads for a character background? Like: "if (BE) SetModel("Interface\Glues\Models\UI_MainMenu\UI_BloodElf.m2");"
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: [LUA] [QUESTION] Character Backgrounds
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2013, 10:00:25 am »
We are a 335a modding community in first point. You should say if you use other client. Only 2 or 3 people do modding on an other then 335a.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

stoneharry

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
    • View Profile
Re: [LUA] [QUESTION] Character Backgrounds
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2013, 10:48:47 am »
Quote from: "Shadowjesper1"
Sorry, if I am not understanding your points but:

@stoneharry: I cannot find that line in the .lua of 4.0.6a

Isn't there a specific line in the luas that has the treepath of what file it loads for a character background? Like: "if (BE) SetModel("Interface\Glues\Models\UI_MainMenu\UI_BloodElf.m2");"

Such a line does not exist in the 3.3.5a Lua code either. ;) It is a Lua frame that is generated in the XML code, however if memory serves me right the client binary sets the model depending on the race selected (much like the client handles the portraits in character creation in the new interface files).

You can overwrite this hardcoded binary setting by using the code I showed above, as it accesses the frame it uses and sets it to a manual model.

You can write the code to select a different M2 depending on the race selected. :P
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Shadowjesper1

  • Registred Member
  • LUA Script Tinker
  • *****
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: [LUA] [QUESTION] Character Backgrounds
« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2013, 02:22:53 am »
Steff. I said it at the very first sentence of the post:

Quote
Client Version: 4.0.6a

Question: I would like to know where the strings for the Character Backgounds (those at CharacterCreate/CharacterSelect). But I cannot find the strings or lines for that matter. I am seeking to change out the Character Backgrounds with a blp instead.

Would anyone which file I would need to edit in order to change out the character backgrounds with a blp?

Thanks before hand.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Gurluas

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 344
    • View Profile
Re: [LUA] [QUESTION] Character Backgrounds
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2014, 05:16:33 am »
Another question related to this..
How do I change Gnome and Troll character creation screens?

I wanted to give them the Cata ones, but I was unable to find out how to tell it to stop using the Orcish/Dwarf one.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Skarn

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 807
    • View Profile
    • http://skarn-project.net
Re: [LUA] [QUESTION] Character Backgrounds
« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2014, 05:32:44 am »
Try editing LUA and XML files. Just swap the path. It's  not that complicated process.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

stoneharry

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
    • View Profile
Re: [LUA] [QUESTION] Character Backgrounds
« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2014, 03:26:43 pm »
Defined in GlueParent.lua if I remember correctly.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »