This is a read only copy without any forum functionality of the old Modcraft forum.
If there is anything that you would like to have removed, message me on Discord via Kaev#5208.
Big thanks to Alastor for making this copy!

Menu

Author Topic: Discourse: Creating a custom Class in Trinity Core  (Read 9667 times)

Grymskvll

  • Registred Member
  • Polygonshifter
  • *****
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Discourse: Creating a custom Class in Trinity Core
« Reply #15 on: May 29, 2016, 07:56:53 pm »
Quote from: "Kobiesan"
I went ahead and fixed it and nothing changed.

Make sure you don't have an unedited CharacterCreate.xml loading from your WowInterfaceGlueXML folder (if you have one). That's a silly snag I ran into before.

Failing that, make some easily recognizable change to the class icons blp or the xml file to make sure that the files are being loaded at all. (for example, draw anatomy on the blizzard class icons, or remove the spacing between icons in the xml by setting the x offset to 0 instead of the default 6 for each button).
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Kobiesan

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Re: Discourse: Creating a custom Class in Trinity Core
« Reply #16 on: May 29, 2016, 07:58:43 pm »
Quote from: "Grymskvll"
Quote from: "Kobiesan"
I went ahead and fixed it and nothing changed.

Make sure you don't have an unedited CharacterCreate.xml loading from your WowInterfaceGlueXML folder (if you have one). That's a silly snag I ran into before.

Failing that, make some easily recognizable change to the class icons blp or the xml file to make sure that the files are being loaded at all. (for example, draw anatomy on the blizzard class icons, or remove the spacing between icons in the xml by setting the x offset to 0 instead of the default 6 for each button).

So do I need to put my lua and xml files back into my original WoW patches? I only have them in a new mpq patch atm.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Grymskvll

  • Registred Member
  • Polygonshifter
  • *****
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Discourse: Creating a custom Class in Trinity Core
« Reply #17 on: May 29, 2016, 08:04:18 pm »
Quote from: "Kobiesan"
So do I need to put my lua and xml files back into my original WoW patches? I only have them in a new mpq patch atm.

No, that's never something you should do (probably). I meant inside the actual WoW game folder, not in an archive. As for checking whether the MPQ is getting loaded, I may have jumped the gun a little with my advice. It seems the guide has you create a THIRD row of class icons, and I'm not sure how this interacts with the interface so I'll actually try to follow the guide and give an update in a moment.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Grymskvll

  • Registred Member
  • Polygonshifter
  • *****
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Discourse: Creating a custom Class in Trinity Core
« Reply #18 on: May 29, 2016, 08:37:22 pm »
Update:
All you need for the icon to show up on the char creation screen is:
-an entry in ChrClasses.DBC
-incremented MAX_CLASSES_PER_RACE and a CLASS_ICON_TCOORDS entry in CharacterCreate.lua
-a new button defined in CharacterCreate.xml

All as per the guide.

Make sure the CLASS_ICON_TCOORDS entry matches the all-caps name defined in ChrClasses.DBC (column 55 or 56, depending on whether columns start counting at 0 or 1). And make sure the MPQ isn't open in an MPQ editor when you launch the game.

You should get something like this (I used the DK icon coords for ease):
https://i.imgur.com/kRuZz3z.jpg

As you can see, there's some interface overlap because the button's position is set to below the first button of the second row, in the XML file. You can figure out where you want the button to be (and where to move other UI elements) at your leisure, or you can follow the ArcEmu guide from before regarding the button's position for an easy fix.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Kobiesan

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Re: Discourse: Creating a custom Class in Trinity Core
« Reply #19 on: May 29, 2016, 11:16:21 pm »
Quote from: "Grymskvll"
Update:
All you need for the icon to show up on the char creation screen is:
-an entry in ChrClasses.DBC
-incremented MAX_CLASSES_PER_RACE and a CLASS_ICON_TCOORDS entry in CharacterCreate.lua
-a new button defined in CharacterCreate.xml

All as per the guide.

Make sure the CLASS_ICON_TCOORDS entry matches the all-caps name defined in ChrClasses.DBC (column 55 or 56, depending on whether columns start counting at 0 or 1). And make sure the MPQ isn't open in an MPQ editor when you launch the game.

You should get something like this (I used the DK icon coords for ease):
https://i.imgur.com/kRuZz3z.jpg


As you can see, there's some interface overlap because the button's position is set to below the first button of the second row, in the XML file. You can figure out where you want the button to be (and where to move other UI elements) at your leisure, or you can follow the ArcEmu guide from before regarding the button's position for an easy fix.

My XML
Code: [Select]
<CheckButton name="CharacterCreateClassButton11" inherits="CharacterCreateClassButtonTemplate" id="11">
<Anchors>
<Anchor point="TOP" relativeTo="CharacterCreateClassButton6" relativePoint="BOTTOM" x="0" y="-6"/>
</Anchors>
</CheckButton>


My tcoords
Code: [Select]
CLASS_ICON_TCOORDS = {
["WARRIOR"] = {0, 0.25, 0, 0.25},
["CAVALIER"] = {0.5, 0.75, 0.5, 0.75},
["MAGE"] = {0.25, 0.49609375, 0, 0.25},
["ROGUE"] = {0.49609375, 0.7421875, 0, 0.25},
["DRUID"] = {0.7421875, 0.98828125, 0, 0.25},
["HUNTER"] = {0, 0.25, 0.25, 0.5},
["SHAMAN"] = {0.25, 0.49609375, 0.25, 0.5},
["PRIEST"] = {0.49609375, 0.7421875, 0.25, 0.5},
["WARLOCK"] = {0.7421875, 0.98828125, 0.25, 0.5},
["PALADIN"] = {0, 0.25, 0.5, 0.75},
["DEATHKNIGHT"] = {0.25, 0.49609375, 0.5, 0.75},
};


My max_classes_per_race line
Code: [Select]
MAX_CLASSES_PER_RACE = 11;
Did everything you said and it still isn't showing up. I feel like something is wrong with my wow.exe even though I used the program to remove the gluexml check. Do you think you could upload your WoW folder and I can use that instead?


Quote from: "Grymskvll"
Quote from: "Kobiesan"
So do I need to put my lua and xml files back into my original WoW patches? I only have them in a new mpq patch atm.

No, that's never something you should do (probably). I meant inside the actual WoW game folder, not in an archive. As for checking whether the MPQ is getting loaded, I may have jumped the gun a little with my advice. It seems the guide has you create a THIRD row of class icons, and I'm not sure how this interacts with the interface so I'll actually try to follow the guide and give an update in a moment.

So to clarify, I should put my new lua and XML files in a new patch? Which I have done. I just want clarification.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Ascathos

  • Moderators
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 1129
    • View Profile
Re: Discourse: Creating a custom Class in Trinity Core
« Reply #20 on: May 30, 2016, 12:39:08 am »
I checked in with kobiesan by skype. Turned out that the patch had the wrong name. However, it gave me a few pointers to add to this tutorial:


Added note about *_disabled into gluestrings.lua
Added note about circle-class.blp
Changed Icon Placement Code a bit so it works now.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Kobiesan

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Re: Discourse: Creating a custom Class in Trinity Core
« Reply #21 on: May 30, 2016, 05:52:29 am »
If I make a human with my new class the human starts with no languages not even common even though I have all Alliance races set to learn common in playercreateinfo_skills. It works on other human classes though. Same goes for other races and their respective languages.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Ascathos

  • Moderators
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 1129
    • View Profile
Re: Discourse: Creating a custom Class in Trinity Core
« Reply #22 on: May 30, 2016, 08:50:59 am »
Quote from: "Kobiesan"
If I make a human with my new class the human starts with no languages not even common even though I have all Alliance races set to learn common in playercreateinfo_skills. It works on other human classes though. Same goes for other races and their respective languages.
Yes, that is skilllineinfo.

Have not dived into those yet in the tutorial.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

reidospalas

  • Registred Member
  • Race Changer
  • *****
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Discourse: Creating a custom Class in Trinity Core
« Reply #23 on: October 27, 2016, 08:27:44 am »
Can u pass me your skype please? i did all the instructions but i'm getting a lot errors in compilation :(
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Kaev

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 308
    • View Profile
Re: Discourse: Creating a custom Class in Trinity Core
« Reply #24 on: October 27, 2016, 11:40:27 am »
Quote from: "reidospalas"
Can u pass me your skype please? i did all the instructions but i'm getting a lot errors in compilation :(

Just tell us what you exactly did and which errors do you get. Why help everyone one by one when other people could also use the same informations to fix their mistakes?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

reidospalas

  • Registred Member
  • Race Changer
  • *****
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Discourse: Creating a custom Class in Trinity Core
« Reply #25 on: October 27, 2016, 05:25:24 pm »
Quote from: "Kaev"
Quote from: "reidospalas"
Can u pass me your skype please? i did all the instructions but i'm getting a lot errors in compilation :(

Just tell us what you exactly did and which errors do you get. Why help everyone one by one when other people could also use the same informations to fix their mistakes?

Hey thank u for the awnser, Okay i got this errors when i tried compile : http://imgur.com/a/ZC2VW

And i got like 100 errors when i changed the cs_misc.cpp, i removed the change and i'll try run the custom class without this file editted, I didn't touched Achiev.cpp/Dbcstore.cpp and Condition.cpp but i still gotting this errors on compilation :(
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Kaev

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 308
    • View Profile
Re: Discourse: Creating a custom Class in Trinity Core
« Reply #26 on: October 28, 2016, 07:17:11 am »
Quote from: "reidospalas"
Quote from: "Kaev"
Quote from: "reidospalas"
Can u pass me your skype please? i did all the instructions but i'm getting a lot errors in compilation :(

Just tell us what you exactly did and which errors do you get. Why help everyone one by one when other people could also use the same informations to fix their mistakes?

Hey thank u for the awnser, Okay i got this errors when i tried compile : http://imgur.com/a/ZC2VW

And i got like 100 errors when i changed the cs_misc.cpp, i removed the change and i'll try run the custom class without this file editted, I didn't touched Achiev.cpp/Dbcstore.cpp and Condition.cpp but i still gotting this errors on compilation :(

Several ) and ; are missing, no idea how you deleted them, but you need to add them again.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

reidospalas

  • Registred Member
  • Race Changer
  • *****
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Discourse: Creating a custom Class in Trinity Core
« Reply #27 on: October 28, 2016, 06:11:35 pm »
I didn't touched this files, i changed the files using files on fresh compiled and i still have this errors :(
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »