This is a read only copy without any forum functionality of the old Modcraft forum.
If there is anything that you would like to have removed, message me on Discord via Kaev#5208.
Big thanks to Alastor for making this copy!

Menu

Author Topic: [QUESTION] Parse Noggit worlds to Wow  (Read 3368 times)

Keta

  • Contributors
  • Model Change Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
[QUESTION] Parse Noggit worlds to Wow
« on: October 25, 2011, 10:20:29 am »
Hey everyone.

Now, this might mainly be a question to all C++ devs, but anyone in general are welcome to try and make this. Now my question is, would it be possible for someone to make a program (maybe a small batchfile) that can load the world you are making in Noggit, and parse the entire thing into Wow, while running? So Wow will instead of loading the map from the MPQs, it would load the maps from the RAMs. The maps that you're building in Noggit.
Which (if I'm correct? Dunno, never really done any C++ developing) would make it possible to instantly view your builds IN WOW, as from a players perspective, while you're building in Noggit.
Sorta like this: (at 1:14)
[youtube:3suey4mm]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yqc9EP7_56s[/youtube:3suey4mm]
Hopefully you'll get what I mean.
Now I don't expect it to look ANYWHERE near as fancy as that :P But I mean, if we know Wow reads ADTs, it shouldn't be so hard to make a Wow that can load from ADTs in the rams, instead of from the MPQs? x)
Just an idea :P Hopefully you'll consider it :)



Thanks
Keta
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Parse Noggit worlds to Wow
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2011, 10:42:16 am »
Actually, people even had that idea before it made it into Wowedit. The problem is: As everything we do is only based on reverse engineering, its a major pain in the ass, doing stuff like this.

Of course, its possible from the technical perspective. It would just be way too much work to do.

Also, sadly, live edit streaming code is not available in Cataclysm release builds.

This would force us to first reverse engineer everything related to rendering, loading and managing files. Then write some magic thing that does synchronization between noggit and wow. As the structures used in the engine actually differ from the ones in the files, this would also need conversion from the noggit structures to files to engine structures.

All of that without being able to modify a single line of Wow without having pain.

Its too much pain from my perspective. I tried around with it a bit and did not feel like its worth investigating more.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

TheBuG

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 469
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Parse Noggit worlds to Wow
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2011, 10:51:36 am »
Quote from: "schlumpf"
Actually, people even had that idea before it made it into Wowedit. The problem is: As everything we do is only based on reverse engineering, its a major pain in the ass, doing stuff like this.

Of course, its possible from the technical perspective. It would just be way too much work to do.

Also, sadly, live edit streaming code is not available in Cataclysm release builds.

This would force us to first reverse engineer everything related to rendering, loading and managing files. Then write some magic thing that does synchronization between noggit and wow. As the structures used in the engine actually differ from the ones in the files, this would also need conversion from the noggit structures to files to engine structures.

All of that without being able to modify a single line of Wow without having pain.

Its too much pain from my perspective. I tried around with it a bit and did not feel like its worth investigating more.

Have to ask, wouldn't it be possible to load NoggIt into WoW, rather than next to it and having the updates show live?

Kind of like how Taliis did it ? Though terrain editing might be a bit more complicated than the object movement.

Saving and loading might give some issues (from a rather stupid point of view, but I know shit about wow's engine structures).
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Parse Noggit worlds to Wow
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2011, 10:58:21 am »
Quote from: "TheBuG"
Have to ask, wouldn't it be possible to load NoggIt into WoW, rather than next to it and having the updates show live?

Kind of like how Taliis did it ? Though terrain editing might be a bit more complicated than the object movement.

Saving and loading might give some issues (from a rather stupid point of view, but I know shit about wow's engine structures).

This video is actually mine, if you had a look at the username on youtube.

Doing this was a major pain in the ass, as explained above.

There are some other people -- I think Jadd did something as well -- who investigated on this. Yes, it _is_ possible. But it's hardly easier. When doing the two-application-approach, you can just use your own structures and do thing completely yourself. When going in-wow-process, you need to use the given rendering stuff, which you would have to reverse engineer just as if you'd only stream it. Also, you'd have to reverse engineer the other stuff named.

In the end, there isn't really much difference, except in-process, you have to stick to the given rules and out of process you just have to write data.

Saving and loading is the smallest problem. WoW can even write into MPQs, just as Noggit can.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

TheBuG

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 469
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Parse Noggit worlds to Wow
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2011, 11:01:22 am »
Quote from: "schlumpf"
Quote from: "TheBuG"
Have to ask, wouldn't it be possible to load NoggIt into WoW, rather than next to it and having the updates show live?

Kind of like how Taliis did it ? Though terrain editing might be a bit more complicated than the object movement.

Saving and loading might give some issues (from a rather stupid point of view, but I know shit about wow's engine structures).

This video is actually mine, if you had a look at the username on youtube.
Should've known  ;) .

Quote from: "schlumpf"
Doing this was a major pain in the ass, as explained above.

There are some other people -- I think Jadd did something as well -- who investigated on this. Yes, it _is_ possible. But it's hardly easier. When doing the two-application-approach, you can just use your own structures and do thing completely yourself. When going in-wow-process, you need to use the given rendering stuff, which you would have to reverse engineer just as if you'd only stream it. Also, you'd have to reverse engineer the other stuff named.

In the end, there isn't really much difference, except in-process, you have to stick to the given rules and out of process you just have to write data.

Saving and loading is the smallest problem. WoW can even write into MPQs, just as Noggit can.

Fair enough, not unhappy with how things are at the moment, it would probably not have a huge impact on the quality of worldbuilds, just on the speed they're done. Then again, might make builders lazy (for as far as we aren't yet).
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Keta

  • Contributors
  • Model Change Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Parse Noggit worlds to Wow
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2011, 01:01:03 pm »
Hm, sad to hear this isn't as easy as I imagined it but... Oh well :P Would it atleast be possible to modify Wow so it could load ADTs from outside the MPQs? And so you could simply do a /reload to update to the new world. That way you would simply have to save in Noggit, when you wanted to see it ingame. Ofc, it would require 2 Wow's, but fuck dat ;D

Thanks
Keta
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Keta

  • Contributors
  • Model Change Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Parse Noggit worlds to Wow
« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2011, 05:48:05 pm »
So... Any of you C++ peps could fix this up? :S

Thanks
Keta
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Parse Noggit worlds to Wow
« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2011, 06:14:09 pm »
Well, that might be possible as well, but not really that easy. I don't know exactly how much you had to change for that, but I guess its not that little.

Reverse engineering isn't that easy. Try it yourself. You don't need a to know anything about C++ for that.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Eluo

  • Moderators
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 509
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Parse Noggit worlds to Wow
« Reply #8 on: October 26, 2011, 06:43:09 pm »
Weren't until 1.12 the files loadable from outside just like Keta described it?
It could be possible as far as i know blizzard, to be still in the client bust just deactivated.
What do you think?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
One is a genius, the other\'s insane!

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Parse Noggit worlds to Wow
« Reply #9 on: October 26, 2011, 07:08:38 pm »
To actually say something, I'd have to look into the binary. Without, I can only do speculation.

There even is code to ignore SVN data in the binary, so it might be possible, yes.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Keta

  • Contributors
  • Model Change Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Parse Noggit worlds to Wow
« Reply #10 on: October 27, 2011, 08:44:26 am »
Cool :D So... Will you be trying to do this whenever you find some freetime? :)

Thanks
Keta
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

schlumpf

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Parse Noggit worlds to Wow
« Reply #11 on: October 27, 2011, 09:19:02 am »
Well, I most likely wont, as there is no use for me and I therefore don't care about it.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Parse Noggit worlds to Wow
« Reply #12 on: October 27, 2011, 11:08:00 pm »
The question is. Do you want this or more work be done on noggit direct?

For me testing takes less the one minute. Start script to pack MPWs and this direct close all wow tools and run up wow.exe.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

TheBuG

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 469
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Parse Noggit worlds to Wow
« Reply #13 on: October 28, 2011, 10:34:08 am »
Quote from: "Steff"
The question is. Do you want this or more work be done on noggit direct?

For me testing takes less the one minute. Start script to pack MPWs and this direct close all wow tools and run up wow.exe.

I think most people would prefer some new features in Noggit rather than this. Why? Because it only saves time, but it doesn't really add a lot of extra value to worldbuilding (in my opinion).
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Keta

  • Contributors
  • Model Change Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: [QUESTION] Parse Noggit worlds to Wow
« Reply #14 on: October 28, 2011, 11:41:41 am »
Okay, I get your points :p
But Steff, could you maybe release the script you're using? Even tho its probably just a batch file but... x)

Thanks
Keta
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »